Customer Reviews for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine

Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine

The HE240 combination embroidery and sewing machine is designed to give your projects that customized higher-end look. Take pride in your work by stamping your own personal style using the multitude of features offered by this machine. Features: 70 built-in embroidery patterns   67 built-in stitches   10 built-in frames   5 built-in lettering fonts   LCD touch screen   Large embroidery area (100 mm x 100 mm) (4 in. x 4 in.)   Embroidery hoop included   Enlarge/reduce function for lettering and patterns   Built-in thread cutter   Automatic needle threading system   Memory card slot, compatible with Brother® embroidery cards (sold separately)   Drop feed dogs to allow for darning and free motion sewing   Electronic speed control Specifications: Dimensions (L x W x H): 50.8 cm x 38.1 cm x 38.6 cm (20 in. x 15 in. x 15.2 in.) Weight: 8 kg (17.6 lb.) Warranty:   25 years limited   Model: HE240
Average Customer Rating:
4.815 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
(out of 27 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 of 27(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Review 1 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:HV-GB, NL
Date:June 1, 2014

Good Machine

Pros: affordable
Cons: slow and sometimes inconsistent
"Good machine. A little Slow but overall okay. Good beginner machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, Mb
Date:May 22, 2011

Reliable, trusty machine

"I do light duty sewing but it has served well in everything I've tried to do on it. Made curtains for my cabin, mending, simple projects have all turned out well. No problems and easy to use."
Review 3 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS
Date:December 31, 2009

Great !!!!

Pros: it almost does everything by itsself
"this sewing machine is great, I just got mine for x-mas and I have not stopped making things. it is worth the money and more. I would recommend it to everyone that loves to sew and does not have alot of money."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatchewan
Date:March 6, 2012

Fantastic Machine

Pros: built in threader, thread cutter
"Wow...I am so impressed with this machine. The built in embroidery, stitches and fonts are beautiful. The ability to download from the internet provides endless possibilities. A definite must have for a quilter!! Fantastic!!!"
Review 5 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marystown,NL.
Date:March 3, 2011

Best purchase ever

"I have recently purchased my HE 240 Brother machine and I love it.I am very impressed with the performance for the price I paid...I would recommend it to anyone looking for a good sewing & embroidery machine. Well worth the $s paid."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:November 26, 2013

Very Happy

"Just received this machine for a birthday gift.... although I'm still in the learning mode with much more to learn about this machine, up to this point I'm extremely satisfied.... can't wait to work up to the embroidery functions...."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon,Sask.,Canada
Date:January 14, 2011

very good product

Pros: usb connection
Cons: none
"I got this machine for my wife for Xmas - It replaces A Brother machine PC7500 that cost $3600. about 14 ago - She loves this machine - it runs Quieter and does almost everything that the old one did - I hope it lasts 14 years like the old one"
Review 8 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Saskatoon
Date:January 10, 2012

Excellent Product

"I have been using this machine for the last 2 months and really love it.
It's very user friendly and the I love the auto cutting, the auto needle threading and the easy bobbin threading.
The price is excellent for the great quality that you get.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Uxbridge, Ontario
Date:June 27, 2012

Great sewing machine for a good price!

Pros: needle threading feature, detailed easy to understand instructions
"I bought this sewing machine because I was having trouble threading the needle of my old machine. The needle threading feature is easy to use!
I haven't tried the embroidery features yet, but am looking forward to it. The machine is lightweight and the instructions are easy to understand.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:March 30, 2012

Amazing

"This is an incredible machine for the price. The CD is invaluable and should be watched before you start anything. It is excellent. The self threader is so easy and it is helpful to have the automatic thread cutter on the sewing stitch and the bobbin winder. Overall it is a great machine."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Langley, BC
Date:December 13, 2010

Best Purchase ever

Pros: everything i need
Cons: nothing
"I have nothing but good things to say about this brother HE-240. I have always want to tried embroidery but couldn't justify the price. This one is great! It has a lot of good features besides the embroidery that actually work. The embroidery will only do 4x4 but this is plenty for me. For the price I think it is great!"
Review 12 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dartmouth, N.S.
Date:April 3, 2012

Great value and features

"I have had this machine a few weeks now. Although it is early days yet, I am very pleased with it. The CD is invaluable and something I refer to when needed. I have yet to embroider but have enjoyed sewing a garment as well as many craft items. This sewing machine seems easy to use, sews accurately and has endless possibilities."
Review 13 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Tillsonburg,Ontario
Date:April 9, 2012

Brother HE 240 Sewing/Embroidery Machine

Cons: the dvd does not work not a big deal....going to, order another one.
"Have had this machine for about a month now and it is awesome. For sewing it runs very quiet and smooth. This is my first embroidery machine and I am just amazed at how easy it is to operate, downloaded a pattern from the internet and it was so easy. Just practicng so far and it's more than I expected. Great price! Thanks Costco."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Manitoba
Date:October 13, 2011

Such a Cool Sewing Machine!!

Pros: great electronic help menu, speed control by 2 places
"Received my sewing machine quickly from Costco.ca - it is such a neat machine, way more electronic than any I have operated EVER! The step by step help manual on the electronic pad is just incredible. I am looking forward to getting to sew a lot of things. The fact that you can control the speed first by the switch + also by the foot pedal is great."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, On
Date:April 10, 2013

Very Very Happy Wife

Pros: best valued 2 1n 1 machine out there
Cons: none
"My wife wanted a sewing machine for her birthday, had a look around the usual stores, come across this on online flyer could not believe the value of this machine and its features compared to others in other stores, thank you Brother and a bigger thank you to Costco, ordered Monday pm delivered early Wednesday am amazing, I wish I could buy everything from Costco, best prices, best value best service bar none."
Review 16 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Warman, SK
Date:August 28, 2012

Amazing Machine!

"I love this sewing machine. It is easy to use and the features it has are wonderful! I started with a very basic Brother machine, so this one is definitely more than I was expecting. You can set it to automatically do just about anything, backstitich, cut your thread and more. I have used the embroidery part a couple of times and it works amazingly. I love how quiet the machine is and I can't say enough good things about it! Love it, definitely buy it if you're considering, the price and quality is outstanding!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, Ontario
Date:December 12, 2014

A Very Good Entry Level Embroidery Machine

Pros: automatic thread cutter; video/instructions good.
Cons: no cons for a machine of this size and weight.
"I have now used this machine for about two years. I continue to be amazed at the range of features for the price. Things I have learned -- successful embroidery needs the right preparation: Take the time to hoop your embroidery with the appropriate stabilizer. Change your needle. Use Brother bobbin thread for embroidery projects for best results. Be sensible about the number of layers of heavy fabric you are attempting to sew. If you work with this little machine, it will give you stellar results for years to come."
Review 18 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:hamilton ON
Date:June 7, 2011

Totally in love with it

"This machine is awesome, I love all the regular stitching options, it runs so smoothly. You get a ton of different feet and a cute little box to keep them in.
The embroidery part of the machine, I am amazed with. I have never done embroidery before and you would think a machine at this low price would not be as good. It is definately not true.
There are tons of free file downloads on the net and you can upload them directly to your machine with the USB cable.
I have had mine for 3 months and cannot seem to leave it alone.
Love it Love it."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Dartmouth, NS
Date:April 16, 2012

Great entry level machine

Pros: easy to learn to use
Cons: none
"The Brother Embroidery machine is a wonderful entry level machine for the beginner or the experienced sewer. I got this to see if I liked doing the embroidery and if it was fairly simple to use, I love using it and it is so simple. I easily switch from regular sewing to the embroidery and even the thread changes are seamless. The automatic threader is a wonderful feature, love it! I have been making beautiful receiveing blankets and burp cloths for my grandaughter. I plan to use the machine to do designs on plain t-shirts to give them that little bit of class."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Brother® Computerized Sewing and Embroidery Machine
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Date:April 11, 2012

Amazing Sewing Machine I Ever Owned!!

Pros: lightweight, user -friendly, quiet, amazing price
Cons: nil
"After sewing on my old Brother sewing machine that I owned for the past 34 years I finally took the plunge and updated to this sewing machine. WOW!!! I cannot believe that it took me this long.....this is absolutely an amazing sewing and embroidery machine!!!! I LOVE IT!!! I will definitely be doing machine embroidery as after doing hand embroidery these past 30 years I cannot believe how easy it is by this machine!!! It is extremely quiet and user-friendly!!! The automatic threader is amazing!! The CD is extremely useful! Thank you so much Costco for this amazing purchase!!!! Now back to my sewing!!!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>