Customer Reviews for SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System

Two 2 ft. x 20 ft. Solar Panels (80 sq. ft.) Includes 1 SolarPill™ Pool Blanket Pill
Average Customer Rating:
3.231 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
9 of 13(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System
Review 1 for SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:peterborough, ON
Date:May 22, 2009

So far So good.

Pros: seems to be working well
Cons: i'm nervous about the hard plastic and its durabil
"Ok, so don't think this is as simple as they make it sound. This took me a good 3 days to install.... I'm pretty handy, but you need to be careful and do it right. I also bought the controller box and and timer for the pump, together they rose the temp of my pool from 61-81 in a week in may, in Ontario. OK so putting them on the roof was easy, make sure you use a ratchet to firmly connect the panels and black roofing caulk so your roof won't leak. I bought 3 boxes for my roof, the problem is that there is a 4 inch gap bt each panel so I could only fit 2 boxes (keep this in mind). The next issue is you must use Sch 40 white pvc pipe with the primer and glue. They say you can leave the panels up over the winter but I'm not going to the plastic is hard and I'm afraid it might crack, so I got 2 connectors so I can easily remove the panels from the PVC (oh ya the PVC ran me about $150-200) Minimize your corners, do it with a friend, and enjoy the warm pool."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB
Date:June 25, 2009

My Kids Thank Me Every Day!

Pros: added 15 degrees f to our pool, easy setup on fence or lattice frame recommended, rolls up for storage, comes with diverter valve and roof mounting kit
Cons: requires south facing exposure for max benefit, requires at least a 5'x25' mounting area
"This is a fantastic product that has added immensely to our enjoyment of our 16' above ground pool. Last year my kids wore wetsuits in the pool till August! Setup the solar panel this year in early June and the pool is now 81F consistently.
Only additional item I needed was 20' of pool hose. Mounted the panels on 2 lattice frames from the home supply store.
This products has exceeded my expectations!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS
Date:June 10, 2010

No results so far

"Installed late May for an 18' pool, more cloud than sun in NS to mid June, but still very little benefit on the sunny days.
Temperature has not increased over 3 weeks.
Requires extra flex hose even for ground setup. I used sump pump hose since it's much cheaper than the 'proper' pool hose, but required making gaskets out of bicycle tubing to fit properly.
Many of the diverter fittings made by the company have a steady drip, but is tolerable.
You will need to build a rack, even for the ground, since it advises against leaning against pool (allows access to pool for children).
Flow rate is cut in half when diverting to solar panels, which concerns me whether the pool pump will give out under stress.
Hoping for better results in nicer weather.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:July 6, 2009

It works, but...

Pros: it works, cheap
Cons: one box heats a 21' pool too slowly
"I bought this few weeks ago and I installed it on my roof. Had to buy approx 100$ of rigid PVC pipes and took an afternoon to install. I had no leak at all. So far, it works (the water getting back to the pool is hotter), but frankly, one box is not sufficient. For a 21' pool, 80000BTU means an increase of 1 degreeF per day, so you will want to add more boxes to have something more efficient. Still, at that price, it is way cheaper than buying a profesionnal intallation. So I would recommend it, but plan on adding more boxes!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 9, 2009

Works great

"We installed these panels last summer and we were very happy with the results. Last year was a cool summer and we still reached temperatures of 90 F. For comparison reasons, on a hot summer the best our pool ever got was 81 F as we live up north where the nights are cold. So far this year has been cool and I started swimming May long weekend with temperature of 79 F. We left them up on roof all winter and have to admit we were worried how they would hold up but they held up well with no leaks. Our roof is very steep with valleys that build up ice and we were worried that it would damage panels as ice slides off the roof. They are obviously tougher than they seem. We have 2 boxes of panels on our roof to heat an 18X33' above ground pool. Wouldn't want to be without them."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Burlington/Ancaster
Date:June 7, 2009
"Very over-rated, needed to purchase new parts as parts supplied do not meet Canadian code, metric system. Needed to seal all points of by-pass unit as unbelievable amount of leaks. Clamps are also sub-standard, need to purchase additional items at considerabe added cost. I am still waiting to see if the actual heating system works but up to now a very poor product. Certainly does not take 30 minutes to install, not if you want to do it well!"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:July 10, 2010

So far, so ok

Pros: get to experience the life of a plumber
Cons: you're probably not a plumber
"Build in lots of time for this one - box says up and going in 30 minutes, but it takes longer than that to get the product out of the box and flat. Get ready for several trips to your local pool store for hose/parts as well. We hooked ours up to an Intex Chlorinator and that took an extra $150 in hoses (30') each and values/connectors. So far seems to be heating up the pool just fine, but we'll see what happens when the weather turns a bit colder."
Review 8 for SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Fredericton, NB
Date:July 6, 2010

Works great, when there is sun

Pros: low cost in comparision to a heater.
Cons: you need to have some knowledge of plumbing.
"This the 4th year using this system. I have 3 2 x21 panels installed on the ground for a 24' round pool. On a fully sunny day the pool temp will increase 9 F.
The black hoses to connect the panels leaked and one poped off and drained the pool a couple years ago. I bought some plumming supplies and changed the connection between the panels. I also bought a three way valve so I can divert water away from the panels on cloudy days, other wise you need to turn off the pump to keep the panels from cooling the water.
My wife loves warm water and this is the cheapest way to keep your water warm, but it doesn't work on cloudy days."
Review 9 for SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:June 21, 2010

Leaks after first winter

Pros: cheap, works as promised
Cons: hard to install (20' long piece), low water flow, difficult to winterize, high maintenance
"I had this solar system installed on my garage for 3 summers and decide to replace them this year with the "Solar Works" system sold at Costco (Enersol product). The SunHeater system had leaks after each winter because the system would never drain properly because the system is installed horizontally. It would be a good option if you they were stored away every winter. It performed well during sunny days but the system is very resistive (80fts of linear tubing) and will reduce you water flow by more than half. I would connect the two panels in parallel to minimize the resistance of the system. If you can afford it go with Solar Works it is a much better product."
Review 10 for SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Whitby, ON
Date:June 15, 2010

Not Too Bad

"For the money it's not that bad.
Raised temp approx 4 degrees
Just wished that it came with most of the common parts.
Spent another $100 + in hoses & connectors"
Review 11 for SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:May 25, 2010

Bought 2 kits in 2009 - replacing with heat pump

Pros: good product easy to set up
Cons: - works great on a warm sunny days, - does not generate enough heat on cold overcast
"- water approx 4 degree C warmer (outlet/inlet on a sunny day)
- I set up on ground
- some creativity & plumbing experience required, instructions not very user friendly
- beware of freezing
- nothing wrong with product itlsef, but I do not think it is designed for Canada
- essentialy it can't generate the heat when you really really need it
"
Review 12 for SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Edmonton Area
Date:June 29, 2009

Purchase & Read Before Pool Set-Up!

"We've had our heater for a week now and its still not set up. The roof mount is only if pool is within 30ft from house and on a 1 storey high roof. Now we must build our own frame out of wood to put closer to pool. No pool stores in Edmonton sell them pre-made. Should have bought and read heater instructions before placing pool."
Review 13 for SunHeater™ Above-ground Pool Solar Heating System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Sturgeon Falls, ON
Date:June 7, 2009

great purchase

"Great purchase, and keeps our pool that little extra warm for the kids.
Delivery was very fast, we ordered on Tuesday evening and was delivered Thursday morning!
"