Customer Reviews for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot

iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot

Average Customer Rating:
4.185 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(130 Reviews) 129
(out of 130 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (130 reviews)
5 stars
82
4 stars
23
3 stars
2
2 stars
13
1 star
10
105 of 129(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Review 1 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick
Date:August 30, 2015

Amazing Little Pool Cleaner

" We put in a pool this summer and quickly realized that using the vacuum that came with it was not going to be feasible. We looked at all kinds of pool robots and after careful consideration, we chose the Verro 500 from Costco. The big reason was that Costco takes away the "Lemon" risk. I must say that the reviews for this little cleaner were mixed when I was researching it. I almost feel obligated to log on here and tell everyone that this little beauty works amazing. This is my first summer with it so I cannot speak to the longevity however, I have a 38 X 18 square corner pool and lots of leaves that get blown in due to trees close by. I am amazed and impressed with this cleaner. It cleans the entire pool in 3 hours and it looks like we hand washed the entire liner. I would definitely recommend this to anyone as not only does it work very very good, it is also backed by Costco. "
Review 2 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:August 23, 2015

Move on...

" I'm now on to my 3rd Verro 550. It if wasn't for Costco's great return policy (and this being there only option) I wouldn't have bought it a 2nd time much less a 3rd. Both prior purchases has the same result. It died within about a year. Makes me gun shy though from buying anywhere else where returns are often greeting with "call the manufacturer, then ship it out for 2 months!" Other than premature death though, the Verro 550 does a decent job. I often miss one corner in my pool, doesn't go up the stairs (due to a lip) and I'm certain it doesn't do all the sides... but other than that... it's okay. In other words, unless you are need Costco's no problem return policy, go buy a Dolphine, AuqaBot or Shark Tiger or some other highly reviewed product. "
Review 3 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Markham, ON
Date:July 12, 2015

It's my second one, but that's ok!

Pros: new kink free cord!
" Just bought my second Verro after having the first one for 6 years. The first one, the motor quit after 3 years. Im pretty sure it was from me launching it into the pool like an idoit. New motor cost me $600.00. This season, the pump quit and they wanted another $500.00 for the repair. The repair costs are outrageous with only 1 repair shop in Ontario. After much research, I found that no matter which brand, these robots tend to quit after 4-7 years. For the money you an't beat the Verro.
So I got another one instead of paying for a major repair on an old unit, but when I opened the box, what a great surprise. There have been several major upgrades. The rollers are smaller. Not sure if this is good or bad, but they're smaller. The locks on the basket are much higher quality and don't feel they they will break easily. The handle, when put in proper position locks well to prevent the cord tangle. The cord is much smaller gauge and appears to be a "no kink". It seems like the same cord all of the highend robots use. This is a major improvement. Lastely, the power unit is smaller, more slick and lays on it's side. All really good upgrades AND it's $200 cheaper than when I first bought it. I'm a happy camper and oh, it cleans really well also! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:London, ON
Date:July 7, 2015

If it only lasted .....

Pros: cleans well. (16x32 rectangle "regular" pool), easy to operate.
Cons: fails after 2 seasons., parts / repair is expensive or not avaiable., cord tangles & bag is a hard to clean.
" I've had 2 of these. Both had to be returned. Both died in the second season of use. If iRobot can figure out how to make them last at least 3 seasons (but preferably 5), it would be worth the money. But 2 doesn't cut it. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Barrie,ON
Date:July 3, 2015

Not worth the money

Pros: easy to use
Cons: does not climb the walls and gets stuck
" I was excited to finally get a pool robot. This one is not worth the money. It does NOT climb the 90 degree walls. It also seem to get stuck at least once every time I use it so don't plan on going far. Overall it cleans about 80% of the dirt so plan on following up with the standard pool vacuum. "
Review 6 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:belleville, on
Date:June 29, 2015

well worth the money paid

Pros: no efforts at all
Cons: cleaning of filter is not pleasant but easy
" I bought it in 2012 and happy with it since. It cleans well even the vertical walls. I did have a problem with it getting stuck once we opened the pool for the season and had to redirect it, i suppose because the walls of the pool were very sticky, but once it did one set of cleaning it works fine. Just drop it in twice a week and use solar blanket and the pool is crystal clean. We call it MO as in Wally movie. to clean a filter you can remove it and air dry, then remove dry residue or swish it in a basket full of water. I use it as a plant fertilizer then "
Review 7 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Pembroke, ON
Date:June 15, 2015

Can't believe how it works!

Pros: does a super job cleans whole pool in 3 hrs...
Cons: none so far....
" Was skeptical when purchasing, but hubby wanted it. It's crazy how it works and it does go up and out of the water and along the top of the wall and back down again - probably when walls are clean and then has better traction - it's great, hopefully have no problem with it in the future! "
Review 8 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:June 2, 2015

Not worth purchasing

Pros: good size, prob good for a small pool
Cons: doesn't clean up to waterline 90% of the time, doesn't clean the entire pool misses about 10%, bag filter is difficult to clean after use
" This robot did not live up to its claim. After running the robot for 3 hours, I still needed to pull out the pump vacuum and go over the areas it missed. It also doesn't clean up to the waterline 90% of time. Sometimes it attempts to get up to the waterline at an angle and gets stuck. If I don't check on it every 15 min , it could be stuck for the entire cleaning cycle. "
Review 9 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:May 22, 2015

iRobot Verro 500 Pool Cleaner - Good Performance

Pros: compact, runs on its own for hours
Cons: won't do vertical walls ;, filter clean-up harder because of bag folds
" Got the pool cleaner about 10 days ago and put it to work daily, Spring cleaning the pool. Did a good job on the floor and the 45 degree walls (not the verticals). Does not seem to do the vertical parts of the wall. The filter system has lots of folds so cleaning it is more tedious and takes longer. Overall I am happy with the purchase thus far but it is only 10 days. Am waiting to see about longer term reliability given other comments "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:May 20, 2015

Thought it would last longer

Pros: great while it worked
Cons: short lifespan
" We bought this unit 5 years ago and up until the middle of last summer it worked wonderfully and I couldn't say enough good things about it . Then it stopped working, one of the moters stopped altogther and the other one barely works at all. After spending close to $1000.00 which is what it came to after taxes, it should have lasted a lot longer . One of the great things about Costco is of course it's return policey, but unfortunately after 4-5 years since the orginal purchase I didn't feel I could return it ! "
Review 11 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Qc
Date:May 15, 2015

One problem

Pros: well made, easy to clean, easy to maintain, good price
Cons: will not climb walls to clean the water line.
" My 10 year old tigershark expired last year, so I ordered a Verro, which isn't a bad product, it is well made and very easy to maintain. However, my Tigershark just about climbed out of the pool to scrub the water line. The Verro didn't do one inch of it although the video shows it climbing to the water line.
Seeing as my Tigershark is 10 years older technologically than this Verro, I expected at least some sign of superiority in technology, none.
I am may still end up keeping this product. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ontario
Date:May 9, 2015

Does not clean the whole pool or climb the walls

Pros: 1. excellent delivery., 2.excellent return policy.
Cons: 1. doesn't clean the whole pool., 2. doesn't climb the walls at all.
" Ordered this online and it was delivered to my door 2 days later. Tried it out this morning - let it run for the whole cycle as recommended. Noticed very quickly that it won't climb the walls. We have a rectangle fiberglass pool so nothing weird for it to contend with. It Got to the wall, started up it, went about 1 foot, then went back down. Doesn't touch the stairs either.
Also, it's 'algorithm' seems to be confused by a rectangle. It spent about 3/4 of its time on the deep end, 1/4 in the middle and left the last 10 feet or so of shallow end completely untouched. I cleaned the filter and let it run for another cycle this afternoon - same result. No shallow end and no walls.
Terrible product in my opinion. Its going back.
"
Review 13 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 7, 2015

Remarkable!

Pros: cleans pool effortlessly.
Cons: none.
" This little robot is amazing. It keeps our pool perfectly clean and also climbs the walls. Since we do not expect it to climb the steps, we just use a broom to sweep the steps clean before putting the IRobot in. Remember to keep the filter clean, and rotate the handle after every use.
Remarkable. We purchased two, just in case it ever gets discontinued!...
"
Review 14 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2014

Started running in reverse terrible service

Pros: non
Cons: no ted support and very costly to fix
" Worked great for a year which is 3 months in Sask running it once a week adds up to about 12 cleanings then the problems started the motor started running in reverse blowing stuff everywhere rather than picking it up. It took 2 days to find tech support in Canada. I live in Sask they want me to ship unit to them pay for it going and coming and 500 to fix. I said not a chance send me the part it was just shy of 300.00. It workers for most of the summer and now it has stopped moving I give. When working it was a good product, It has been broken longer than it has worked and really no customer support in Canada and it is a fortune to fix, I would not recommend this product. I feel that Costco should check the customer support on this product, to try and improve it for the customers that have bought this item from them. They will need service at some point. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Johns, NL
Date:June 12, 2014

sounds too good, but, believe it!

Pros: cleans the pool brilliantly
Cons: a bit heavy but worth it's weight in gold
" This product has been very impressive since the first day we bought it. We have never been able to clean the pool so well or so eaily. The pool has never looked as good and it is actually easier to manage the chemicals. It seems expensive but it is worth every penny. I would buy another, in a second, if this one has any troubles. "
Review 16 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:June 6, 2014

Product Great - Irobot Service No so great

" I bought one five years ago and it has been fantastic. It stopped working this spring and I tried to contact IRobot for help. Big waste of time. You need to talk to the manufacturer Aquaproducts (800)457-7642 or the parts supplier in Canada, Watermaid (877)987-6243. Mine needed two new belts at $10/belt.
I still would buy another one if I wasn't able to fix it.
Costco should list the Canadian Parts Supplier on their website. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:May 15, 2014

One star per year ! Two years and it's out !!

Pros: worked well during the first summer, did save a lot of time
Cons: did not clean stairs or go all the way up walls, broke after less then 8 months of use
" I loved it the first summer, at the end of last summer it stopped working, it just won't move anymore. I've cleaned every nook and still won't work. I tried to find a repair center near Montreal, no luck so far. So after two years I'm back to manual clean. 500$ per summer is a lot for this product and unfortunately it's out of the waranty period. I'm not going back to this brand as reviews of newer model don't seem to be any better. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brampton, ON
Date:April 2, 2014

What a time saver!

" Plug it in and drop it in your pool and walk away. No more fussing with a hose, filter basket, etc. etc.
This cleaner saved me about an hour per week allowing me to spend the time with my small kids vs. cleaning the pool!
Well worth the $...made me hesitate with the purchase at first, but wish I would have bought one years ago after having it last season. "
Review 19 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:September 27, 2013

Not great - compared to other robotic cleaners

Pros: works great compared to other cleaning methods.
Cons: filter is a pain to clean, got stuck in my pool
" I see a lot of reviewers here comparing this cleaner to other methods of cleaning (manual vacuuming, a pool service, etc). Sure, compared to other methods, this cleaner is amazing. BUT, ALL robotic cleaners are.
Compared to other robotic cleaners, this one didn't do so well for me. It almost never cleaned to the waterline, the filter is a pain to clean, and the plug between the cleaner and power supply is just frustrating (and it REALLY shouldn't be).
The final straw for me was that it simply got stuck along a certain edge in my pool. Once it got to that edge, it would just go back and forth, never to go anywhere else in the pool. Calls and emails to customer support went UNANSWERED. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:July 25, 2013

Great, until you need parts

" The robot works well, no complaints there. Unfortunately, the plastic frame that holds the bag had a piece break off which renders the unit inoperable. An inquiry to the company reveals that they do not sell any accessories anywhere. A call to the number they provided ended up getting me transferred to a completely different company.
While I hope this will be resolved, it doesn't seem like an easy matter to get replacement parts. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>