Customer Reviews for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot

Cleans your pool so you don’t have to! With the iRobot® Verro™, you’ll spend more time enjoying your pool rather than cleaning it. Get the hands-free way to clean your entire pool from floor to waterline in 3 hours with the push of a button. Sturdy roller brushes scrub and clean all pool surfaces while the powerful vacuum and self-contained filtration system pick up and trap leaves, hair, sand, dust, algae and debris as small as 2 microns, reducing run time of pool filtration systems. Just drop it in and let it go to work!   Features: Designed for use in chlorine or salt water pool systems   Systematic cleaning from floor to waterline in 3 hours   Self-contained cleaning and filtration system   Pumps 16 kilolitres (4,225 gallons) of water an hour   PVA brushes scrubbing surfaces for the most effective clean   Designed for all pool surfaces including gunite, vinyl, fibreglass and tile   18.3 m (60 ft.) cable with swivel cord de-tangler   Autoreverse feature preventing hang ups   Powerful vacuum and filtration system pick up and trap dirt, dust, algae and particles as small as 2 microns   Integrated filter reducing your primary pool filtration system run time   Improved pool water chemical mix and temperature circulation   Operation completely independent from your current pool pump system   No installation, no hoses, no booster pumps   For use in pools up to 6.1 m x 15.2 m (20 ft. x 50 ft.)   Included Accessories: 18.3 m (60 ft.) floating power cord with swivel de-tangler   Transformer   Fine filter bag   Specifications: Dimensions (L x W x H): 48 cm x 39.9 cm x 37.1 cm; (18.9 in. x 15.7 in. x 14.6 in.)   Weight: 8.2 kg (18.1 lb.)   For more information about this product, please call the iRobot Customer Service Centre at 1-800-727-9077.
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 77
(out of 78 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
8
1 star
7
63 of 78(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Review 1 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 10, 2014

Started running in reverse terrible service

Pros: non
Cons: no ted support and very costly to fix
"Worked great for a year which is 3 months in Sask running it once a week adds up to about 12 cleanings then the problems started the motor started running in reverse blowing stuff everywhere rather than picking it up. It took 2 days to find tech support in Canada. I live in Sask they want me to ship unit to them pay for it going and coming and 500 to fix. I said not a chance send me the part it was just shy of 300.00. It workers for most of the summer and now it has stopped moving I give. When working it was a good product, It has been broken longer than it has worked and really no customer support in Canada and it is a fortune to fix, I would not recommend this product. I feel that Costco should check the customer support on this product, to try and improve it for the customers that have bought this item from them. They will need service at some point."
Review 2 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:St Johns, NL
Date:June 12, 2014

sounds too good, but, believe it!

Pros: cleans the pool brilliantly
Cons: a bit heavy but worth it's weight in gold
"This product has been very impressive since the first day we bought it. We have never been able to clean the pool so well or so eaily. The pool has never looked as good and it is actually easier to manage the chemicals. It seems expensive but it is worth every penny. I would buy another, in a second, if this one has any troubles."
Review 3 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:June 6, 2014

Product Great - Irobot Service No so great

"I bought one five years ago and it has been fantastic. It stopped working this spring and I tried to contact IRobot for help. Big waste of time. You need to talk to the manufacturer Aquaproducts (800)457-7642 or the parts supplier in Canada, Watermaid (877)987-6243. Mine needed two new belts at $10/belt.
I still would buy another one if I wasn't able to fix it.
Costco should list the Canadian Parts Supplier on their website."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:May 15, 2014

One star per year ! Two years and it's out !!

Pros: worked well during the first summer, did save a lot of time
Cons: did not clean stairs or go all the way up walls, broke after less then 8 months of use
"I loved it the first summer, at the end of last summer it stopped working, it just won't move anymore. I've cleaned every nook and still won't work. I tried to find a repair center near Montreal, no luck so far. So after two years I'm back to manual clean. 500$ per summer is a lot for this product and unfortunately it's out of the waranty period. I'm not going back to this brand as reviews of newer model don't seem to be any better."
Review 5 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Brampton, ON
Date:April 2, 2014

What a time saver!

"Plug it in and drop it in your pool and walk away. No more fussing with a hose, filter basket, etc. etc.
This cleaner saved me about an hour per week allowing me to spend the time with my small kids vs. cleaning the pool!
Well worth the $...made me hesitate with the purchase at first, but wish I would have bought one years ago after having it last season."
Review 6 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:September 27, 2013

Not great - compared to other robotic cleaners

Pros: works great compared to other cleaning methods.
Cons: filter is a pain to clean, got stuck in my pool
"I see a lot of reviewers here comparing this cleaner to other methods of cleaning (manual vacuuming, a pool service, etc). Sure, compared to other methods, this cleaner is amazing. BUT, ALL robotic cleaners are.
Compared to other robotic cleaners, this one didn't do so well for me. It almost never cleaned to the waterline, the filter is a pain to clean, and the plug between the cleaner and power supply is just frustrating (and it REALLY shouldn't be).
The final straw for me was that it simply got stuck along a certain edge in my pool. Once it got to that edge, it would just go back and forth, never to go anywhere else in the pool. Calls and emails to customer support went UNANSWERED."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:July 25, 2013

Great, until you need parts

"The robot works well, no complaints there. Unfortunately, the plastic frame that holds the bag had a piece break off which renders the unit inoperable. An inquiry to the company reveals that they do not sell any accessories anywhere. A call to the number they provided ended up getting me transferred to a completely different company.
While I hope this will be resolved, it doesn't seem like an easy matter to get replacement parts."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Halifax, NS
Date:June 24, 2013

Amazing robot

Pros: so easy to use, great cleaning
Cons: the warranty should be longer than only one year
"This robot can also climb on the vinyl wall of our pool. The only part that it cannot reach is the dirt accumulated in the few narrow folds which have been formed between the wall and the floor of the pool.
People who complain about it maybe have a dirtier or bigger pool to clean than our 12x23 aboveground pool surrounded by pine trees which don't lose their leaves in autumn.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Aurora, on
Date:June 20, 2013

Set it and Forget it!

"Simply amazing. Just throw it in the pool after your done swimming and let it work it's magic. It does the stairs, climbs on the walls, goes over liner kinks. This has made our pool experience much more pleasurable. We used to spend hours cleaning the pool, eventually being too tired to even enjoy it. The irobot has allowed us to enjoy our pool."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 11, 2013

Big Box Let Down

Pros: none
Cons: stopped working, extremely heavy
"Didn't even last 10 minutes! I had great expectations after reading the reviews. We read the instructions carefully and launched the IRobot into the pool. It looked like it was going to be fine and then it stopped. Tried cleaning the filter... nothing really in it. Mystery why it just quit. Returning it tomorrow.
Very disappointing.
Also EXTREMELY HEAVY!!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Milton, ON
Date:June 7, 2013

Not worth the price

Pros: cleans all areas of the pool thoroughly, quiet
Cons: difficult to connect the cord to the power supply, cord tangles easily, for the price it should last longer than 2 summers, flimsy plastic that holds filter bag
"This cleaner worked great the first summer, not as great the second summer and now it won't work at all. Have contacted support at IRobot 3 times and they have not responded. If you live in Canada, don't count on any support. Can't find anyplace to fix it in Ontario."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:GTA
Date:June 2, 2013

Mine Broke

Pros: costoco, when its working it works, it doesnt get stuck
Cons: broke, got clogged, not good for pools with larger debris
"Although initially it did a good job. It really has trouble with larger debris like leaves.
Sometime debris wouldn't collect properly in the bag, sometimes it did and I as careful installing the bag.
The propeller vent often got clogged with debris so you have to remove 4 screws to clean it.
I can live with all of the above but then after 1 year of use, it died.
The best part of the purchase was costco's return policy. That I give 100% to.
"
Review 13 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2013
"My problems were pine needles and sand...I said were! I love the fact that I get to keep the skimmer cleaning the top of the water while this guy is cleaning the bottom."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:February 11, 2013

IT WILL BROKE $$$

Pros: works well
Cons: it will broke and will be very expensive to repair
"But it at Costco.ca two years ago. Now it is broken (transmission, not moving anymore) after only two summers. Irobot do not repair, they send you to a repair center near Toronto (the only in Canada). The job to change the transmission motor is $500!!!. They saw a lot of irobot with this problem.
It worked well but at this price for two years and after you will have to pay more than $500 again. For me it is too expensive.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Craven, Sk
Date:September 8, 2012

iRobot - best purchase ever

Pros: quickly cleans all debris off the bottom and side, quiet easy to use, lightweight easy to handle, one person can operate it, sturdy and durable
Cons: cleaning the filter bag
"We purchased the iRobot for our new pool, we were nervous about using it at first but were quickly won over by its ability to clean the pool. It worked quickly and effortlessly, and we only remembered it was in the pool if it climbed too high up the side or got stuck and made a noise to let us know it was stuck. We LOVE it. We pull back the cover, put it in, and by the time we are done skimming off the leaves from the top of the water, we are ready to swim in crystal clear water. The ONLY draw back is cleaning the filter bag, but after seeing how it works that is ok. I am thinking of buying another filter bag just to have one around. I wish that had been available at Costco as well. I would recommend it to anyone with a built in pool. It does a great job on our fibreglass pool!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Ontario Canada
Date:August 26, 2012
Pros: just drop it in and walk away
Cons: none
"Bought the Vero 500 in May and have been using it all summer in an 18 x 36 pool. I absolutely love it. Excellent cleaning and coverage, right to the waterline and all corners.
The filter bag is a bit of a hassle at first but after a few times it is not a big deal. I would never go back to a filter based system
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:North of Toronto
Date:August 21, 2012

Best buy ever

Cons: this sucker is heavy. my husband has to put it in
"This gizmo has made pool cleaning a snap. just let it loose and walk away. Three hours later the pool is pristine"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Maple Ridge, BC
Date:August 13, 2012

Love it!

Pros: easy to use!
"We've only used it once so far but we love it! Just can't agree on what to name it! Previously we used to get so frustrated trying to use the hose and pump..air would get in and suction would stop. This puppy works like a dream! One cord.. Drop it in and away it goes. As far as cleaning the filter goes its no different from cleaning the filter sock or anything else. It did take quite a long time though. After about 3.5 hours we decided the pool looked good and turned it off. It did get stuck between out steps and the pool wall so we had to redirect it.. So that may have messed up its pattern. All in all its great... Easy breezy. Freaks the dog out a bit though! ;)"
Review 19 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2012

iRobot

"Wow, unbelievable how it cleans the pool, make me wonder how my pool was ever cleaned before with the Krippy Krawler."
Review 20 for iRobot® Verro™ 500 Pool Cleaning Robot
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Stoney Creek, ON
Date:August 8, 2012

so far it does the job great

Pros: easy to use and clean
Cons: doesn't clean the stairs
"Only had this for a few weeks, but we love it. Easy to work and to clean. My water pressure stays constant because the filter hardly gets dirty. We have a cartridge filter that we had to clean after each vacuum. My husband has a bad back and always had problems vacuuming the pool. Now it is so easy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>