Customer Reviews for Hunter Moderna II 132.1 cm (52 in.) Ceiling Fan Energy Star® Approved

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Hunter Moderna II 132.1 cm (52 in.) Ceiling Fan Energy Star® Approved

5 Reversible Blades Includes Remote Control
Average Customer Rating:
2.818 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 10
(out of 11 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
2
5 of 11(45%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hunter Moderna II 132.1 cm (52 in.) Ceiling Fan Energy Star® Approved
Review 1 for Hunter Moderna II 132.1 cm (52 in.) Ceiling Fan Energy Star® Approved
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK
Date:July 6, 2009

poor info on the box

"I bought and installed this piece of junk today and have a few thoughts to share. first, you can only use the remote like the other reviewers said. I expected to use my swites like normal and have the remote as a bonus and to control the fan. I mean you have to use the hot line from the switch so why not allow the light / fan to be controlled by your switches?
Second, the light turns itself off after 20 minutes or so, perhaps it's an energy saving thing but it's really not useful if the light is a primary light - like say in a living area or dining room.
Finally, like other have said it uses a proprietary bulb and has hard to find accessories. None of this is even hinted to on the box before you purchase and this model isn't even listed on the hunter website... I'm planning to take this thing back, I just wish I could get the several hours back it took to install (had to do some additional framing in the attic to accommodate this really heavy fan)."
Review 2 for Hunter Moderna II 132.1 cm (52 in.) Ceiling Fan Energy Star® Approved
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 28, 2009

Something to consider

"The unit is really quiet so its perfect for our bedroom. It's solid and does not wobble at all.
Remote:
Pro - Convenience of being able to control the light and fan speed with the remote control.
Con - If it gets misplaced or breaks, you will not be able to turn on the light or the fan. The fan does not remember the previous setting if you turn it off from the wall switch.
CFL bulb:
Pro - Energy efficient
Con - Where can I find a replacement bulb other than the Hunter online store
A few minutes after installation, we found that the light and/or fan will turn on by itself. The fan will occasionally speed up or slow down by itself as well. After a week, I decided to change the DIP switch settings thinking that the receiver is sensitive to interference or a neighbour uses the same frequency. We have seen the light turn on by itself only once since. I recommend changing the DIP switch settings before mounting the fan."
Review 3 for Hunter Moderna II 132.1 cm (52 in.) Ceiling Fan Energy Star® Approved
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:April 14, 2009

Hunter Ceiling Fan

"My first time shopping for the celing fan. very solid, quiet, energy efficient and stable fan.
If you can overcome a few Problems felow, it's a great buy...
1. Low light; it limits to 19W. Not enough for light demanding environment. Cannot substitute for higher watt bulb.
2. Difficult to install. It takes time or an expert to do the job.
3. Dependent on the remote control. If you lose or misplace your remote control, you will be paralyzed.
4. Sensitive to radio frequency interferance. My unit periodically (light and fan) on and off at its will. I'm still to isolate the interference.
Good luck to adjusting to this unit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hunter Moderna II 132.1 cm (52 in.) Ceiling Fan Energy Star® Approved
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2009

50" Hunter "Moderna" ceiling fan

Cons: bulb -replacing them and the lack of brightness
"We bought this slightly smaller version 12 months ago. Within two days the bulb burned out and we were completely unable to find replacements locally. On looking on the internet I saw reviews dated 2002 saying that the bulbs were going to become the new way and would be widely available, but still not. I just Emailed Hunter and asked how much for them to send a couple to Calgary. I wonder why Costco couldn't do that (order a bunch of spare bulbs) if a lot of people (not just the reviews on this site) are having the same problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hunter Moderna II 132.1 cm (52 in.) Ceiling Fan Energy Star® Approved
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Coquitlam BC
Date:July 22, 2009

Not very happy.

"Quiet fan, good light and well made. Potentialy, the best fan I have ever purchased. Except for the fan and/or light coming on at any time, day or night it's a good fan. Contacted Hunter Fan for repairs and they sent me 3 receivers and 2 transmitters. Finally, they wanted to replace the fan. Guess it's going back. I'm not the only who has had this problem. Too bad as I really liked it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hunter Moderna II 132.1 cm (52 in.) Ceiling Fan Energy Star® Approved
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kamloops, BC
Date:April 4, 2009

Great purchase

Pros: sleek design, very powerful, remotes are very convenient
Cons: the light is not very bright
"I purchased 6 of these as I am having a kitchen dining room renovation done and needed 4 fans. I bought 2 additional ones to add to my cathedral entrance landing and my living room. All of the contractors loved them."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hunter Moderna II 132.1 cm (52 in.) Ceiling Fan Energy Star® Approved
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:July 30, 2009

Good in the long term

Pros: quiet, powerful, nice modern look, energy star
Cons: many frequencies succumbed to interference, changing frequencies inconvenient, light is not very bright
"Very frustrating at first because it did have a mind of its own - light and fan turning on and off and changing speeds all day and all night. It is not easy to change the receiver's code, and I had to change it SIX times before I found a frequency that worked properly!
Note: you do not have to install the wireless receiver/remote... you can hardwire it and control from a switch, but unless you have 3 wires, you're not going to be able to control the light & fan independently this way.
Now I love it"
Review 8 for Hunter Moderna II 132.1 cm (52 in.) Ceiling Fan Energy Star® Approved
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:May 25, 2009

Not a Bright Idea

Pros: great design, super energy-efficient, solid quality materials, nice and quiet
Cons: the gu 24 18 w cfl cannot be replaced easily, cannot use higher watt cfl--too dim, not a fan of the remote
"My husband and I purchased the Hunter Moderna II because we loved the sleek style and it was energy efficient. We wanted to cut down on the number of nights we would use our air conditioning. It's too bad that the light is so dim and pink-coloured. I tried to replace the 18W GU24 CFL but you can't find them easily. The ones I did find were too tall which meant the glass dome wouldn't fit with them. I returned it and we'll probably go with another Costco fan that fits normal CFL bulbs."
Review 9 for Hunter Moderna II 132.1 cm (52 in.) Ceiling Fan Energy Star® Approved
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Coquitlam, BC
Date:August 5, 2009

This fan has issues

"I've had this fan for about a year and its great when its working. The fan is quiet, the light is bright for a CFL.
The problem: It turns on and off by itself. I even got up there and switched the jumpers thinking that someone else had the same fan which was confusing it. Now, the remote doesn't work if the fan is on. I have to turn it off by the breaker. The light goes on and off fine with the remote as long as the fan is not on."
Review 10 for Hunter Moderna II 132.1 cm (52 in.) Ceiling Fan Energy Star® Approved
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 5, 2009

jury still out

"this is a very nice fan but it seems to have a mind of its own: either the fan starts by itself or worse the light (even not very bright) turns itself on at will.........."