Customer Reviews for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System

Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System

Reverse osmosis, also known as hyperfiltration, is a process that reduces the particles down to the molecular level. The same process used by major bottled water companies, reverse osmosis reduces the salts and other impurities, giving you high-quality great-tasting water.   The R/O Pure filtration system provides you with water that rivals and often exceeds the quality of bottled water, at a fraction of the price and without the inconvenience of heavy bottles and plastic containers. The process reduces your environmental impact by putting the bottling plant right at your kitchen. The filters of this system turn your tap water into an efficient source of good tasting, healthy water.   Many things can affect the quality and purity of well and municipal water. Factors such as water usage, temperature, and even weather can cause changes in water quality. Household plumbing can also introduce contaminants such as rust and lead into your tap water. Watts Premier’s filtration systems can alleviate these effects by providing a consistent level of filtration, giving you a higher quality of water. This 4-stage system provides an affordable alternative to bottled water, conveniently located right in our home.   Features: Manifold 4-stage, reverse osmosis, water-filtration system Innovative, compact 1-piece design Sanitary and convenient "push-button" filter change (no tools required) Reduces: Arsenic, cysts (cryptosporidium, giardia, entamoeba and/or toxoplasm), barium, hexavalent chromium, trivalent chromium, copper, lead, fluoride, cadmium, radium 226/228, selenium, total dissolved solids and turbidity Includes a high capacity 11.4 L (3 gal.) storage tank Built with a high-production thin film membrane Designer solid-brass electronic monitor faucet Provides bottled-water quality Can be easily connected to an ice maker Easy to install and maintain Numerous uses: Drinking water, coffee, tea, juice, ice makers, food preparation and more Advanced Multiple-stage Filtration: Stage 1 – 5-micron sediment filter to trap dirt, rust, sand, silt, and suspended particles Stage 2 – carbon-block technology to reduce chlorine taste and odour Stage 3 – high-production 50 gpd membrane reduces contaminants as small as 1/10,000 of a micron Stage 4 – final carbon block to enhance taste and quality Specifications: Tank dimensions (Dia. x H): 27.9 cm x 40.6 cm (11 in. x 16 in.) Filter dimensions (L x W x H): 30.5 cm x 30.5 cm x 10.2 cm (12 in. x 12 in. x 4 in.) Weight: 10 kg (22 lb.) Warranty: 3 years Model: 290616
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 42
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
33 of 43(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Review 1 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:calgary, AB
Date:April 9, 2014

Waste of time and money - leaks

Pros: do it yourself
Cons: leaks leaks leaks, check the reviews too many people saying it leaks, parts to fix leaks cannot be sourced
"Should have listened to the reviews. I'm pretty diligent when it comes to do it yourself products. So while I had no problems installing the filter - at the end it leaked just as several noted. The quick connect fittings are fast and simple but one did leak and there is nothing that could have been changed to the install to change the leaking. To make matters worse, the parts for the quick connectors are no where to be found at any local regular shops you'd think. The one on the faucet is very specific - perhaps a custom fitting. Point being what are you supposed to do when you have problems. I contacted Premier in an attempt to see if I could get quick connect parts mailed to me to replace the faulty one. After being on hold for 45 minutes I gave up. It all went back in the box and it was returned. Life is too short to worry about something leaking under your sink. Seems to be a serious design flaw with the product. Could be as simple as the quality and type of tubing used along with the quick connect fittings."
Review 2 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marsh lake, Yukon
Date:February 13, 2014

The best anywhere

Pros: great end product
Cons: tricky installation
"We purchased this system last August. The installation was a little tricky but once we got everything tightened up all was well. This system produces the best water we have ever tasted. We have a well and our water is very hard and alkaline. The watts system removes all impurities and bad smells send tastes. Just changed our filters for our 6 month maintenance-NO problems, couldn't be simpler."
Review 3 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ajax, ON
Date:January 24, 2014

Great tasting water. Good product.

Pros: good tasting water, price is good., new filters are adequately priced, flowless.
Cons: may leak around tap when not installed properly., air gap bypass needs to be done.
"Good product overall. These systems are simple to install but with any thing around home, if you haven't done this install before, don't do it. Get a professional to install it. I bought this when the price was about $50 cheaper. Good product. My family was impressed and got this installed in brother's home also. They are happy. Only thing, I would like to say that if you don't install properly, you will have a drain water leaking from around tap. So when you get this installed, make sure you are doing Air Gap bypass. Search on google for with this model number."
Review 4 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo, BC
Date:January 21, 2014

Worst Purchase Ever

Pros: easy installation, nice looking design
Cons: whatever i have tried it simply do not do the job!
"Five years ago I have purchased 5 stage filtration system and after I installed it (it is made even for dummies to DIY) I had no troubles and it was maintenance free, all I did is to change filters when is scheduled. Sold house and left it there with intention to buy newer 4 stage unit for new house. And that was mistake!!! After I received purchased ‘Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System’, installed it, waited several hours for tank to fill up, turn the tap and, surprise, there was no water flow. Checked the tank and it was empty. I didn’t want to return it to the store so I called manufacturer to do troubleshooting that they provide. Soon we started step by step process, we have found that yellow filter is defective so they said they will send me another one. As they are located in USA, it took more than three weeks to get it here in Canada. Replaced filter and after while I got water flowing. Two days after that I noticed that flow pressure is decreasing and soon tap was dry again. I did troubleshooting myself and found that this time green filter is defective, contacted manufacturer, explained what I have found and got promise they will send me green filter. Again, after three weeks I got it and installed. Several days after the same situation, there was no water on the tap. Sick and tired I gone to local Costco store and they told me to return it and if I want to purchase another unit because probably this unit in whole was defective. I did it and after several weeks I got new unit, installed, and had no troubles for about three weeks when flow started to decrease. Again I did the same troubleshooting and result was both yellow and green filters were defective. I have returned immediately whole unit to the store with decision to go and buy old 5 stage system that I had in my previous home. Obviously this new design with quick filters replacement has some bug that has to be addressed by manufacturer. The main problem now is that I have hole in my quartz countertop that maybe will not be properly sized for new faucet that comes with other unit as faucets are completely different."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK
Date:December 30, 2013

Love it!

"No more carrying water bottles and worrying when the water store is open! This has been a great purchase. The install did take a little while, we mounted the tank in the basement ceiling below the sink to save cabinet space but not compromise water pressure and it worked well. We have had our reverse osmosis for about 4 months and it is still working great. It is very quiet, there is only a little hum while the tank is refilling and the water tastes great. We did notice some leaking from the faucet about a month ago but after consulting the installation manual we found this problem is addressed- the drain tube needs to be in place properly or it flows back up to the spout valve. Since we correctly the tube and made sure the tea towels under the sink are kept away from the hose there has been no problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:October 26, 2013

leaking faucet and easy to loose

Pros: easy to install
"1. the philip screw inside the faucet not design so well. faucet easy to loose after a while
2. small hole on the faucet easy to leak after using the water.
3. no troubleshoot instruction for this purticular problem.
"
Review 7 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Guelph, ON
Date:September 18, 2013

Installation instructions could be better

Pros: ro tank fills quickly, good pressure, color coded lines keeps install clear, attractive faucet
Cons: drain saddle is noisy when ro is operating, poor instructions, unit was prepped for a particular orientation, insufficient 1/4" tubing if tank is distant, no instructions on how to branch to an ice-maker
"The unit is installed with no leaks, but given the reviews I had read I read the instructions thoroughly prior to installation. I found the instructions a little fuzzy especially when it came to the installation of the cold water inlet valve, but I eventually figured it out. This may be challenging to someone who has never installed a compression fitting. Furthermore the unit was arranged to be installed in a certain orientation in the cabinet. I could not use that orientation due to the arrangement of my cabinet and so had to buy some additional 1/4" tubing to reach the storage tank. Also had to pay attention when tightening the faucet that the lines did not get pinched."
Review 8 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:montreal
Date:September 11, 2013
Cons: leaks
"good tasting water read about many leaks the one i got started leaking after 4 months packing it up retunring it to costco also damaged my cabinets"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grande Prariie
Date:August 22, 2013

Great product

Pros: neat, easy install, great water quality, good looks
Cons: can be a little noisy when filling
"This is the third one of these units we have purchased. Easy to install, great looks, convenient filter changing, neat and tidy under counter."
Review 10 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:August 10, 2013

Worst Purchase from Costco ever

Pros: look good
Cons: manufacturing defective
"The faucet part was a manufacturing defective, which leaks, leaks, leaks.
My counter now is all flooded and will never recommend this product to any friend."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON
Date:July 15, 2013

Leaks

Cons: leaks
"Nice item except... Leaks under faucet after use. I had a plumber installed the system. He asked to replace the item and pay anther $70 to install...
I saw lots of reviews regarding leaking, so I think it is a design or manufacture defective. Double think before you buy the item!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Botwood, NL
Date:May 22, 2013

Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtrat

Pros: great water..
Cons: read review
"The system works great except, water runs out of hole on the faucet , don't know why. I cleaned the tubes, checked the drain , If I leave the water turned on over night, I have a flood in the am."
Review 13 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Morden, MB
Date:February 26, 2013

Great tasting water, small hiccup in setting up

Pros: store quality purification 8ppm tds, easy to install, color coded, low maintenance, great pressure!
Cons: first faucet received was faulty
"Installation was a breeze, manual is very clear and easy to follow, I wouldn't consider myself a plumber but just handy.
Very important, flush the system 3-4 times like the manual recommends! I used a TDS tester and had 8ppm after the second fill and decided to start drinking the water. It didn't taste nearly as good as a couple of fills later. If you don't want to waste those few fills, fill up a humidifier and enjoy not having to clean mineral deposits.
The hiccup in installation, the faucet refused to let any drain water enter and drain, Watts, after 'troubleshooting' is sending me a new faucet."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barrie, ON
Date:October 30, 2012

Watts RO Unit

Pros: quick installation., quick and easy cartridge replacement, clean look
Cons: replacement cartridge costs higher than others
"Very nice, easy to install system. Very straight forward installation can be done within a couple of hours by a handy person."
Review 15 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cariboo BC
Date:September 21, 2012

Great Product

Pros: great tasting water. filters easy to remove
"Did not start out good as I could not get very much water flow at faucet. Talked with tech support and we found the problem which was a faulty R/O filter. They sent me a new one right away no charge and since then it has work perfect. Great customer service and we now have very good drinking water."
Review 16 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:St. Johns, NL
Date:July 23, 2012

OK

Pros: water tastes great
Cons: leaks
"The filter works great but the quick connectors leak. Not a lot but there will always be a few slow drips. Expect the area around the filter to be damp. Might be better to buy a higher quality system installed by a plumber for peace of mind."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Oakville, ON
Date:July 10, 2012

Push-button Filter Change Easy Installation

Pros: easy to install compact price
Cons: cartridges are more expensive than regular type, but well worth it if consider push button filters, change.
"I'm replacing another Watts Premier RO filter (WP5) with this one. The WP5 was clunky, took up a lot of space and was difficult to change out filters. Looking for an upgrade, I read about the RO Pure 4 stage filter. After fighting the old RO unit to change out filters, pushing a button on the RO Pure to change out filters including the membrane seemed like a good idea. It took about 30 minutes to install this unit; I took my time and measured twice, cut once. I found that this unit took up far less space under the sink then the old unit. I like the faucet-nice style and I had no leaks on start-up; how often does that happen? I'll look forward to an easy filter replacement in the future when it's time to change filters."
Review 18 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawan
Date:June 25, 2012

issues

Pros: units are ok-water quality at cottage is great.
Cons: the units have changed-parts needed -available????
"Bought 3 units, 4 and 5 stage reverse osmosis systems since first introduced at Costco.
Installed one at my house on city water with no issues. Unit is 7 years old.
Bought one for the cottage and forgot to drain that unit properly in the fall- freezing cracked main housing- tried in vain to get manufacturer to respond in 2004-thereabouts- so I bought another unit- worked well last 4 years-now faucet is giving me a problem- used faucet from previous unit to no avail.
I will probably buy another unit at Costco for the cottage. I will now have an extra 2 storage tanks- If I could buy the rest of the unit without the tanks at Costco that would be great But the filters holders and system are different so- out of luck..
Basically-performance issues are hard to resolve because the units are constantly changing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:May 6, 2012

GURGLING NOISE IS EASY FIX FROM MANUFACTURER

Pros: great tasting water, free part from manufacturer fixes noise
Cons: noisy but fixable
"Love the reverse osmosis unit. Great tasting water and no more lugging bottles home. I too found gurgling noise very annoying but a quick call to the manufacturer and they sent a PART FOR FREE to bypass the air gap faucet and now NO MORE GURGLING NOISE! Heaven sent. Before the fix I was seriously debating returning the unit but now it is quiet and I love it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:April 3, 2012

Super Happy!

Pros: easy change filters, nice tap, great water
"Not one single complaint. Love the easy to change filters. Well worth the price difference...well worth the price. Our sink had a built in soap dispenser so we just replaced it with this nice nickle finished tap, looks great. Other people on here have commented that it's loud, but it isn't any louder than the fridge and it only lasts until it fills the tank...I don't really even notice it. I use it for cooking and everything and have yet to run the tank dry. Best part is that I have water that is as good, if not better than bottled right there all the time."
1 2 3 next>>