Customer Reviews for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System

Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System

Reverse osmosis, also known as hyperfiltration, is a process that reduces the particles down to the molecular level. The same process used by major bottled water companies, reverse osmosis reduces the salts and other impurities, giving you high-quality great-tasting water.   The R/O Pure filtration system provides you with water that rivals and often exceeds the quality of bottled water, at a fraction of the price and without the inconvenience of heavy bottles and plastic containers. The process reduces your environmental impact by putting the bottling plant right at your kitchen. The filters of this system turn your tap water into an efficient source of good tasting, healthy water.   Many things can affect the quality and purity of well and municipal water. Factors such as water usage, temperature, and even weather can cause changes in water quality. Household plumbing can also introduce contaminants such as rust and lead into your tap water. Watts Premier’s filtration systems can alleviate these effects by providing a consistent level of filtration, giving you a higher quality of water. This 4-stage system provides an affordable alternative to bottled water, conveniently located right in our home.   Features: Manifold 4-stage, reverse osmosis, water-filtration system Innovative, compact 1-piece design Sanitary and convenient "push-button" filter change (no tools required) Reduces: Arsenic, cysts (cryptosporidium, giardia, entamoeba and/or toxoplasm), barium, hexavalent chromium, trivalent chromium, copper, lead, fluoride, cadmium, radium 226/228, selenium, total dissolved solids and turbidity Includes a high capacity 11.4 L (3 gal.) storage tank Built with a high-production thin film membrane Designer solid-brass electronic monitor faucet Provides bottled-water quality Can be easily connected to an ice maker Easy to install and maintain Numerous uses: Drinking water, coffee, tea, juice, ice makers, food preparation and more Advanced Multiple-stage Filtration: Stage 1 – 5-micron sediment filter to trap dirt, rust, sand, silt, and suspended particles Stage 2 – carbon-block technology to reduce chlorine taste and odour Stage 3 – high-production 50 gpd membrane reduces contaminants as small as 1/10,000 of a micron Stage 4 – final carbon block to enhance taste and quality Specifications: Tank dimensions (Dia. x H): 27.9 cm x 40.6 cm (11 in. x 16 in.) Filter dimensions (L x W x H): 30.5 cm x 30.5 cm x 10.2 cm (12 in. x 12 in. x 4 in.) Weight: 10 kg (22 lb.) Warranty: 3 years Model: 290616
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 42
(out of 43 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
33 of 43(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Review 1 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:calgary, AB
Date:April 9, 2014

Waste of time and money - leaks

Pros: do it yourself
Cons: leaks leaks leaks, check the reviews too many people saying it leaks, parts to fix leaks cannot be sourced
"Should have listened to the reviews. I'm pretty diligent when it comes to do it yourself products. So while I had no problems installing the filter - at the end it leaked just as several noted. The quick connect fittings are fast and simple but one did leak and there is nothing that could have been changed to the install to change the leaking. To make matters worse, the parts for the quick connectors are no where to be found at any local regular shops you'd think. The one on the faucet is very specific - perhaps a custom fitting. Point being what are you supposed to do when you have problems. I contacted Premier in an attempt to see if I could get quick connect parts mailed to me to replace the faulty one. After being on hold for 45 minutes I gave up. It all went back in the box and it was returned. Life is too short to worry about something leaking under your sink. Seems to be a serious design flaw with the product. Could be as simple as the quality and type of tubing used along with the quick connect fittings."
Review 2 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK
Date:December 30, 2013

Love it!

"No more carrying water bottles and worrying when the water store is open! This has been a great purchase. The install did take a little while, we mounted the tank in the basement ceiling below the sink to save cabinet space but not compromise water pressure and it worked well. We have had our reverse osmosis for about 4 months and it is still working great. It is very quiet, there is only a little hum while the tank is refilling and the water tastes great. We did notice some leaking from the faucet about a month ago but after consulting the installation manual we found this problem is addressed- the drain tube needs to be in place properly or it flows back up to the spout valve. Since we correctly the tube and made sure the tea towels under the sink are kept away from the hose there has been no problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo, BC
Date:January 21, 2014

Worst Purchase Ever

Pros: easy installation, nice looking design
Cons: whatever i have tried it simply do not do the job!
"Five years ago I have purchased 5 stage filtration system and after I installed it (it is made even for dummies to DIY) I had no troubles and it was maintenance free, all I did is to change filters when is scheduled. Sold house and left it there with intention to buy newer 4 stage unit for new house. And that was mistake!!! After I received purchased ‘Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System’, installed it, waited several hours for tank to fill up, turn the tap and, surprise, there was no water flow. Checked the tank and it was empty. I didn’t want to return it to the store so I called manufacturer to do troubleshooting that they provide. Soon we started step by step process, we have found that yellow filter is defective so they said they will send me another one. As they are located in USA, it took more than three weeks to get it here in Canada. Replaced filter and after while I got water flowing. Two days after that I noticed that flow pressure is decreasing and soon tap was dry again. I did troubleshooting myself and found that this time green filter is defective, contacted manufacturer, explained what I have found and got promise they will send me green filter. Again, after three weeks I got it and installed. Several days after the same situation, there was no water on the tap. Sick and tired I gone to local Costco store and they told me to return it and if I want to purchase another unit because probably this unit in whole was defective. I did it and after several weeks I got new unit, installed, and had no troubles for about three weeks when flow started to decrease. Again I did the same troubleshooting and result was both yellow and green filters were defective. I have returned immediately whole unit to the store with decision to go and buy old 5 stage system that I had in my previous home. Obviously this new design with quick filters replacement has some bug that has to be addressed by manufacturer. The main problem now is that I have hole in my quartz countertop that maybe will not be properly sized for new faucet that comes with other unit as faucets are completely different."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marsh lake, Yukon
Date:February 13, 2014

The best anywhere

Pros: great end product
Cons: tricky installation
"We purchased this system last August. The installation was a little tricky but once we got everything tightened up all was well. This system produces the best water we have ever tasted. We have a well and our water is very hard and alkaline. The watts system removes all impurities and bad smells send tastes. Just changed our filters for our 6 month maintenance-NO problems, couldn't be simpler."
Review 5 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ajax, ON
Date:January 24, 2014

Great tasting water. Good product.

Pros: good tasting water, price is good., new filters are adequately priced, flowless.
Cons: may leak around tap when not installed properly., air gap bypass needs to be done.
"Good product overall. These systems are simple to install but with any thing around home, if you haven't done this install before, don't do it. Get a professional to install it. I bought this when the price was about $50 cheaper. Good product. My family was impressed and got this installed in brother's home also. They are happy. Only thing, I would like to say that if you don't install properly, you will have a drain water leaking from around tap. So when you get this installed, make sure you are doing Air Gap bypass. Search on google for with this model number."
Review 6 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto
Date:June 4, 2010

Excellent results!

Pros: easy to install
Cons: water can get to room temp (this is a pro for me)
"1h to install. The hardest part was punching the hole in the sink. Tested the water after a few refills:
Total (TDS) PPM (particles per million):
Watts Reverse Osmosis Filter: 8 (eight)
Tap water: 125
Kirkland bottle water: 368!!!!
Nestle bottle water: 387!!!!
I did the testing, and no, my glases were not dirty.
"
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawan
Date:June 25, 2012

issues

Pros: units are ok-water quality at cottage is great.
Cons: the units have changed-parts needed -available????
"Bought 3 units, 4 and 5 stage reverse osmosis systems since first introduced at Costco.
Installed one at my house on city water with no issues. Unit is 7 years old.
Bought one for the cottage and forgot to drain that unit properly in the fall- freezing cracked main housing- tried in vain to get manufacturer to respond in 2004-thereabouts- so I bought another unit- worked well last 4 years-now faucet is giving me a problem- used faucet from previous unit to no avail.
I will probably buy another unit at Costco for the cottage. I will now have an extra 2 storage tanks- If I could buy the rest of the unit without the tanks at Costco that would be great But the filters holders and system are different so- out of luck..
Basically-performance issues are hard to resolve because the units are constantly changing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Morden, MB
Date:February 26, 2013

Great tasting water, small hiccup in setting up

Pros: store quality purification 8ppm tds, easy to install, color coded, low maintenance, great pressure!
Cons: first faucet received was faulty
"Installation was a breeze, manual is very clear and easy to follow, I wouldn't consider myself a plumber but just handy.
Very important, flush the system 3-4 times like the manual recommends! I used a TDS tester and had 8ppm after the second fill and decided to start drinking the water. It didn't taste nearly as good as a couple of fills later. If you don't want to waste those few fills, fill up a humidifier and enjoy not having to clean mineral deposits.
The hiccup in installation, the faucet refused to let any drain water enter and drain, Watts, after 'troubleshooting' is sending me a new faucet."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON
Date:July 15, 2013

Leaks

Cons: leaks
"Nice item except... Leaks under faucet after use. I had a plumber installed the system. He asked to replace the item and pay anther $70 to install...
I saw lots of reviews regarding leaking, so I think it is a design or manufacture defective. Double think before you buy the item!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Guelph, ON
Date:September 18, 2013

Installation instructions could be better

Pros: ro tank fills quickly, good pressure, color coded lines keeps install clear, attractive faucet
Cons: drain saddle is noisy when ro is operating, poor instructions, unit was prepped for a particular orientation, insufficient 1/4" tubing if tank is distant, no instructions on how to branch to an ice-maker
"The unit is installed with no leaks, but given the reviews I had read I read the instructions thoroughly prior to installation. I found the instructions a little fuzzy especially when it came to the installation of the cold water inlet valve, but I eventually figured it out. This may be challenging to someone who has never installed a compression fitting. Furthermore the unit was arranged to be installed in a certain orientation in the cabinet. I could not use that orientation due to the arrangement of my cabinet and so had to buy some additional 1/4" tubing to reach the storage tank. Also had to pay attention when tightening the faucet that the lines did not get pinched."
Review 11 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:September 1, 2011

A good choice

Pros: easy to install, quick connect fittingss, no leaks, quick change cartdridges and membrane
Cons: cartridges more expensive than regular type, my unit had a defective faucet must pay 4 return
"I had another RO system for about 8 years. It was working well but changing the filters was a real pain as it required using a special tool to unscrew the filters' housing. Sometimes it was so hard to remove that I almost broke the tool! I chose this Watts system because of the ease of replacing the filters and membrane.
Yes, it costs more than the regular difficult to replace filters cartridges but it is well worth it. Just press a button and the cartridge pops out! Pop the new one in, you are done! So much easier!
Everything arrived in good shape. The installation instructions were easy to follow and I installed the system, without any leak, in about an hour and a half. The John Guest Quick Connectors provided are a pleasure to work with, they are so easy to use! All the connectors and tubing are provided, I had nothing else to buy (except a digital gauge to check the pressure, optional).
I only had one small problem. The faucet dripped very lightly when closed. I thought I might have too much pressure in the tank so I decreased it a bit (it was at 7PSI, I dropped it to 5.5). That did not help, so I returned the pressure (with a bicycle pump) to 6.5 PSI. I called the Watts support and they are replacing the faucet. However, I have to pay for shipping back the faucet which should not be the case for a brand new unit. That's my only negative comment about this purchase.
Over all an excellent system, easy to install and easy to maintain!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:October 26, 2013

leaking faucet and easy to loose

Pros: easy to install
"1. the philip screw inside the faucet not design so well. faucet easy to loose after a while
2. small hole on the faucet easy to leak after using the water.
3. no troubleshoot instruction for this purticular problem.
"
Review 13 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Strathmore AB
Date:January 12, 2012

Watts RO system

Pros: plenty of water and no wait
Cons: needs a more universal fit for the faucet.
"Changed to this from a labour intensive previous installation and labour intensive fileter change system. Love the 50 gallons per day water with no waiting. I get about 7 litres of water on demand before it has to refill.
The mounting of the water faucet was a problem. I had to make up a spacer and fight the hoses to secure it. The large wing nut just would not work against an irregular sink
Without that problem everything is working well. I look forward to the easy change of filters"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Cartier, Manitoba
Date:July 27, 2011

Great R.O. Unit

"We had another R.O. unit that had worked well for years, but was beginning to have problems. Plus I justed hated changing those filters.
When I saw this unit and how easy it was to change filters, I firgured I would give this a try. Our water is really bad out her it test as 486 ppm on our TDS tester, when I installed this unit after the initial break in the water tested at 7ppm.
The systems I bought before was twice the cost and about the same result. I am quite impressed with the unit
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:January 13, 2010

Excellent water, no leaks, but...

"READ THIS FOR INSTALLATION LIFE SAVER:
I finished installing it and turned the water on. All of a sudden I see leaks from underneath the faucet and from the system tubes itself.
OMG...
Turns out you have to make sure:
not to over-tighten the faucet to the counter, and to make sure the tubes from the faucet and from the system itself are more or less straight, ie, not at an angle.
After I figured this out, there were no more leaks whatsoever, and it looks super easy to change the filters.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:September 29, 2010

Excellent!

Pros: no more plastic bottles, easy to install, low maintenance, modern faucet, economical
"I purchased this product because we did a complete kitchen remodel and felt it would be good to have 'bottled water' without the bottles since we have been using a water dispenser for 20 years with the huge bottles. Since we completely redid our kitchen in a modern theme we decided to go with a built in type to reduce clutter. Wow, great decision, the faucet in the brushed nickel is very attractive and adds to my sink 'bling' nicely! The water is fabulous for a fraction of the cost to buy large or small bottles. Super easy to install because of the quick connect system; I am female and it took me less than 1/2 an hour..I do have granite countertops so I had the installer do my faucet hole 'lucky me'. I did have to go elsewhere 'online' to buy the quick connect 'T" & valve fittings for my icemaker and instant hot."
Review 17 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton,AB
Date:October 27, 2011

fantastic product

Pros: 1.easy set up, 2.small and fit easily under cupboard, 3. easy filter change no water turn of needed, vertical or horizontal, delivery was super fast, no ro knowledge needed for installation, pretty colour coding
Cons: non yet fingers cross
"After thoroughly reading the reviews and researching RO-systems, i decided my chances on this 4-stage. i totally enjoy it. The faucet looks great- brush nickel with electronic signal. setting up was easy and no leakage whatsoever. the water tank fills fast and taste great. night and day difference between regular tap city water vs this RO. the taste is comparable to other expensive RO systems out there. worth the money."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, ab
Date:January 1, 2011

Very Good Unit

Pros: no more bottled water
"Installed it as normal, but placed the main unit in the basement just below the kitchen sink area. I just exchanged the hoses for longer ones. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star is because the drain hose keeps plugging up with gunk and water leaks out the vent hole on the back of the tap and I have to run a thin rod up the drain hose and clean it like a rifle barrel. We are on city water"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:May 6, 2012

GURGLING NOISE IS EASY FIX FROM MANUFACTURER

Pros: great tasting water, free part from manufacturer fixes noise
Cons: noisy but fixable
"Love the reverse osmosis unit. Great tasting water and no more lugging bottles home. I too found gurgling noise very annoying but a quick call to the manufacturer and they sent a PART FOR FREE to bypass the air gap faucet and now NO MORE GURGLING NOISE! Heaven sent. Before the fix I was seriously debating returning the unit but now it is quiet and I love it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:St. Johns, NL
Date:July 23, 2012

OK

Pros: water tastes great
Cons: leaks
"The filter works great but the quick connectors leak. Not a lot but there will always be a few slow drips. Expect the area around the filter to be damp. Might be better to buy a higher quality system installed by a plumber for peace of mind."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>