Customer Reviews for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System

Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System

Reverse osmosis, also known as hyperfiltration, is a process that reduces the particles down to the molecular level. The same process used by major bottled water companies, reverse osmosis reduces the salts and other impurities, giving you high-quality great-tasting water.   The R/O Pure filtration system provides you with water that rivals and often exceeds the quality of bottled water, at a fraction of the price and without the inconvenience of heavy bottles and plastic containers. The process reduces your environmental impact by putting the bottling plant right at your kitchen. The filters of this system turn your tap water into an efficient source of good tasting, healthy water.   Many things can affect the quality and purity of well and municipal water. Factors such as water usage, temperature, and even weather can cause changes in water quality. Household plumbing can also introduce contaminants such as rust and lead into your tap water. Watts Premier’s filtration systems can alleviate these effects by providing a consistent level of filtration, giving you a higher quality of water. This 4-stage system provides an affordable alternative to bottled water, conveniently located right in our home.   Features: Manifold 4-stage, reverse osmosis, water-filtration system Innovative, compact 1-piece design Sanitary and convenient "push-button" filter change (no tools required) Reduces: Arsenic, cysts (cryptosporidium, giardia, entamoeba and/or toxoplasm), barium, hexavalent chromium, trivalent chromium, copper, lead, fluoride, cadmium, radium 226/228, selenium, total dissolved solids and turbidity Includes a high capacity 11.4 L (3 gal.) storage tank Built with a high-production thin film membrane Designer solid-brass electronic monitor faucet Provides bottled-water quality Can be easily connected to an ice maker Easy to install and maintain Numerous uses: Drinking water, coffee, tea, juice, ice makers, food preparation and more Advanced Multiple-stage Filtration: Stage 1 – 5-micron sediment filter to trap dirt, rust, sand, silt, and suspended particles Stage 2 – carbon-block technology to reduce chlorine taste and odour Stage 3 – high-production 50 gpd membrane reduces contaminants as small as 1/10,000 of a micron Stage 4 – final carbon block to enhance taste and quality Specifications: Tank dimensions (Dia. x H): 27.9 cm x 40.6 cm (11 in. x 16 in.) Filter dimensions (L x W x H): 30.5 cm x 30.5 cm x 10.2 cm (12 in. x 12 in. x 4 in.) Weight: 10 kg (22 lb.) Warranty: 3 years Model: 290616
Average Customer Rating:
3.88 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 49
(out of 50 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
9
37 of 50(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Review 1 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Small Town Eastern Onatario
Date:November 30, 2014

It is what it cliams

Pros: economical to purchase and maintain
Cons: requires plumbing skills to install and maintain
"I have had this unit now for about 4 years. It is the second RO I have had from Costco. The first one at a previous house did not have the quick change filters which are a big improvement and reduce maintenance time. Do your research and understand what you are buying and it does require basic plumbing skills to install. If you are not comfortable with installing plumbing fixtures do not buy it because a leak when you are away from home can be a very expensive mistake.
The unit is an RO system so yes it does use water to flush the membrane – that is how RO works. You can use that waste water for other purposes if you want to collect it and not put it down the drain.
This RO works well and preforms as Watts claims. The filter replacements from Costco are very economical and easy to change every 6 months. If you want a low cost self-installed and maintained RO them this is a good one.
If plumbing installation and maintenance is not you thing then call your local plumber and have them install the RO they sell and will maintain for you.
Not everybody should buy this product but it does work as claimed with the caveat – buyer have basic plumbing understanding and skills!
"
Review 2 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:British Columbia
Date:October 16, 2014

Leaks

Cons: leaks!, leak!, leaky!
"This unit leaks from the black connector hose at the base of the faucet. I have called two different numbers for Watts and have been sent to voice mail both times. I will update further when Watts contacts me back. My mom has also purchased this unit and has had no success either."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:August 31, 2014

Great product...

"Set up instruction is a little bit confusing, specially the color codes written on the tubes is different than instruction in the manual.
I installed it and is working perfectly, so far no leak, still I didn't test the water (Chemical test) but looks nice and clear
"
Review 4 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Manitoba
Date:June 12, 2014

great product

Pros: great water, 1 hour install, filter changes are easy
Cons: none
"Ive had this unit for a year. The water tastes great. It was relatively easy to install. Only leak I had was where I didnt connect the line proper in one of the "shark bite" type connector. Easily fixed once I found the issue. I also connected this unit to my fridge/ice maker. The parts are redily available at most hardware stores. No need to purchase an extra kit for this."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:June 4, 2014

Great system, bad for the environment

Pros: good tasting water
Cons: every liter of water wastes 4 down the drain, system is making noise
"The principle of this reversed osmosis system is that the membrane requires continuous flushing in order to stay effective in filtering the water. For every liter of water produced, it wastes 4 liters down the drain. So while the quality of the water is perfect, it comes at a high price. Especially when you are connected to a septic system, since water is continuously flushed through the drain field. You only figure this out when you start to notice (hear) the continuous flow into the drain when you pay attention to that. As soon as I read more on the internet I tossed out the system and replaced it with a 3-stage filter unit, which produces a good quality of water as well, with no waste and noise like the one Costco offers as an alternative, being the model with the electric pump"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Niagara Region
Date:June 2, 2014

Excellent choice

Pros: great tasting water and plenty of it
Cons: none so far
"Recently had this system installed to replace an older RO. Wish I had done it sooner!! The system is very efficient and the quality of the water is excellent. I highly recommend having a professional do the install since they have all the right tools and can get the job done in no time at all."
Review 7 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:MISSISSAUGA
Date:May 19, 2014

this product is garbage!!!

Pros: easy to install
Cons: leak everywhere faucet valves quick connections
"Just saw many reviews here about the leak, if i saw this earlier, i wouldn't buy it (My wife bought it online).
The first month everything is good! After one month, it leaks from faucet without touch anything. Then i order another one, change the faucet, then after two days, leaking from inlet valve, try to repair it, ok for two days, then leak again. After several times repair the inlet valve and leak, the faucet leak again. OMG, it bother me one month, two reason: the faucet quick connections is too loose; the o-ring for inlet valve didn't seal good. Finally i give up and want to return it to Costco after Victory Day.
"
Review 8 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:calgary, AB
Date:April 9, 2014

Waste of time and money - leaks

Pros: do it yourself
Cons: leaks leaks leaks, check the reviews too many people saying it leaks, parts to fix leaks cannot be sourced
"Should have listened to the reviews. I'm pretty diligent when it comes to do it yourself products. So while I had no problems installing the filter - at the end it leaked just as several noted. The quick connect fittings are fast and simple but one did leak and there is nothing that could have been changed to the install to change the leaking. To make matters worse, the parts for the quick connectors are no where to be found at any local regular shops you'd think. The one on the faucet is very specific - perhaps a custom fitting. Point being what are you supposed to do when you have problems. I contacted Premier in an attempt to see if I could get quick connect parts mailed to me to replace the faulty one. After being on hold for 45 minutes I gave up. It all went back in the box and it was returned. Life is too short to worry about something leaking under your sink. Seems to be a serious design flaw with the product. Could be as simple as the quality and type of tubing used along with the quick connect fittings."
Review 9 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Marsh lake, Yukon
Date:February 13, 2014

The best anywhere

Pros: great end product
Cons: tricky installation
"We purchased this system last August. The installation was a little tricky but once we got everything tightened up all was well. This system produces the best water we have ever tasted. We have a well and our water is very hard and alkaline. The watts system removes all impurities and bad smells send tastes. Just changed our filters for our 6 month maintenance-NO problems, couldn't be simpler."
Review 10 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Ajax, ON
Date:January 24, 2014

Great tasting water. Good product.

Pros: good tasting water, price is good., new filters are adequately priced, flowless.
Cons: may leak around tap when not installed properly., air gap bypass needs to be done.
"Good product overall. These systems are simple to install but with any thing around home, if you haven't done this install before, don't do it. Get a professional to install it. I bought this when the price was about $50 cheaper. Good product. My family was impressed and got this installed in brother's home also. They are happy. Only thing, I would like to say that if you don't install properly, you will have a drain water leaking from around tap. So when you get this installed, make sure you are doing Air Gap bypass. Search on google for with this model number."
Review 11 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Nanaimo, BC
Date:January 21, 2014

Worst Purchase Ever

Pros: easy installation, nice looking design
Cons: whatever i have tried it simply do not do the job!
"Five years ago I have purchased 5 stage filtration system and after I installed it (it is made even for dummies to DIY) I had no troubles and it was maintenance free, all I did is to change filters when is scheduled. Sold house and left it there with intention to buy newer 4 stage unit for new house. And that was mistake!!! After I received purchased ‘Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System’, installed it, waited several hours for tank to fill up, turn the tap and, surprise, there was no water flow. Checked the tank and it was empty. I didn’t want to return it to the store so I called manufacturer to do troubleshooting that they provide. Soon we started step by step process, we have found that yellow filter is defective so they said they will send me another one. As they are located in USA, it took more than three weeks to get it here in Canada. Replaced filter and after while I got water flowing. Two days after that I noticed that flow pressure is decreasing and soon tap was dry again. I did troubleshooting myself and found that this time green filter is defective, contacted manufacturer, explained what I have found and got promise they will send me green filter. Again, after three weeks I got it and installed. Several days after the same situation, there was no water on the tap. Sick and tired I gone to local Costco store and they told me to return it and if I want to purchase another unit because probably this unit in whole was defective. I did it and after several weeks I got new unit, installed, and had no troubles for about three weeks when flow started to decrease. Again I did the same troubleshooting and result was both yellow and green filters were defective. I have returned immediately whole unit to the store with decision to go and buy old 5 stage system that I had in my previous home. Obviously this new design with quick filters replacement has some bug that has to be addressed by manufacturer. The main problem now is that I have hole in my quartz countertop that maybe will not be properly sized for new faucet that comes with other unit as faucets are completely different."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Regina, SK
Date:December 30, 2013

Love it!

"No more carrying water bottles and worrying when the water store is open! This has been a great purchase. The install did take a little while, we mounted the tank in the basement ceiling below the sink to save cabinet space but not compromise water pressure and it worked well. We have had our reverse osmosis for about 4 months and it is still working great. It is very quiet, there is only a little hum while the tank is refilling and the water tastes great. We did notice some leaking from the faucet about a month ago but after consulting the installation manual we found this problem is addressed- the drain tube needs to be in place properly or it flows back up to the spout valve. Since we correctly the tube and made sure the tea towels under the sink are kept away from the hose there has been no problem."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Toronto, ON
Date:October 26, 2013

leaking faucet and easy to loose

Pros: easy to install
"1. the philip screw inside the faucet not design so well. faucet easy to loose after a while
2. small hole on the faucet easy to leak after using the water.
3. no troubleshoot instruction for this purticular problem.
"
Review 14 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Guelph, ON
Date:September 18, 2013

Installation instructions could be better

Pros: ro tank fills quickly, good pressure, color coded lines keeps install clear, attractive faucet
Cons: drain saddle is noisy when ro is operating, poor instructions, unit was prepped for a particular orientation, insufficient 1/4" tubing if tank is distant, no instructions on how to branch to an ice-maker
"The unit is installed with no leaks, but given the reviews I had read I read the instructions thoroughly prior to installation. I found the instructions a little fuzzy especially when it came to the installation of the cold water inlet valve, but I eventually figured it out. This may be challenging to someone who has never installed a compression fitting. Furthermore the unit was arranged to be installed in a certain orientation in the cabinet. I could not use that orientation due to the arrangement of my cabinet and so had to buy some additional 1/4" tubing to reach the storage tank. Also had to pay attention when tightening the faucet that the lines did not get pinched."
Review 15 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:montreal
Date:September 11, 2013
Cons: leaks
"good tasting water read about many leaks the one i got started leaking after 4 months packing it up retunring it to costco also damaged my cabinets"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Grande Prariie
Date:August 22, 2013

Great product

Pros: neat, easy install, great water quality, good looks
Cons: can be a little noisy when filling
"This is the third one of these units we have purchased. Easy to install, great looks, convenient filter changing, neat and tidy under counter."
Review 17 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:August 10, 2013

Worst Purchase from Costco ever

Pros: look good
Cons: manufacturing defective
"The faucet part was a manufacturing defective, which leaks, leaks, leaks.
My counter now is all flooded and will never recommend this product to any friend."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Waterloo, ON
Date:July 15, 2013

Leaks

Cons: leaks
"Nice item except... Leaks under faucet after use. I had a plumber installed the system. He asked to replace the item and pay anther $70 to install...
I saw lots of reviews regarding leaking, so I think it is a design or manufacture defective. Double think before you buy the item!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Botwood, NL
Date:May 22, 2013

Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtrat

Pros: great water..
Cons: read review
"The system works great except, water runs out of hole on the faucet , don't know why. I cleaned the tubes, checked the drain , If I leave the water turned on over night, I have a flood in the am."
Review 20 for Premier 4-stage Reverse Osmosis Pure Water-filtration System
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Morden, MB
Date:February 26, 2013

Great tasting water, small hiccup in setting up

Pros: store quality purification 8ppm tds, easy to install, color coded, low maintenance, great pressure!
Cons: first faucet received was faulty
"Installation was a breeze, manual is very clear and easy to follow, I wouldn't consider myself a plumber but just handy.
Very important, flush the system 3-4 times like the manual recommends! I used a TDS tester and had 8ppm after the second fill and decided to start drinking the water. It didn't taste nearly as good as a couple of fills later. If you don't want to waste those few fills, fill up a humidifier and enjoy not having to clean mineral deposits.
The hiccup in installation, the faucet refused to let any drain water enter and drain, Watts, after 'troubleshooting' is sending me a new faucet."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>