Customer Reviews for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener

Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener

Extension kit required for garage doors over 2.1 m (7-ft.) tall (Costco.ca item # 807161). Rest assured that your family has reliable, secure and convenient access to their home, even in the event of a sudden power failure. When the power goes out, this opener still works! This system features the EverCharge™ battery backup system so it’s always charged and always ready. The battery backup system operates opener for up to 20 full cycles while power is out. The system also features solid steel rail and chassis for stability and long operating life.   Features: Quick-install rail system – assembles in 60 seconds ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus - belt moves smoothly through belt drive sprockets, eliminating metal to metal contact and reducing noise Motor Vibration Isolation System (MVIS®) EverCharge™ battery backup system – two 4.5 amp-hr, 12 volt batteries for up to 20 full cycles while power is out Security+® anti-burglary technology – code instantly rolls over when you use remote, stops code grabbers The Protector System® safety sensors – door reverses and opener lights turn on when beam is broken 200 watts of lighting – flood garage for added security Accessories Included:   2 3-button remote controls – operate up to 3 garage doors Motion detecting control panel – operate door and opener lights hands-free Wireless keyless entry system – operate door without key with private security code Specifications: Dimensions (L x W x H): 68.8 cm x 24.6 cm x 33.8 cm (27.1 in. x 9.7 in. x 13.3 in.); Weight: 21.4 kg (47 lb.) Warranty: Motor: As long as the original purchaser owns the product Belt: 10 years Battery: 1 year Model: WD962KCD/ 155264
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
(out of 22 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
20 of 22(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Review 1 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Guelph, ON
Date:March 26, 2014

Best Purchase Ever

Pros: good quality, price is fair, quiet
Cons: cheap control panel
"Have been using it for monthes. Very good in quality. the belt opener is relly quiet, way better than the chain opener I had before."
Review 2 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON
Date:March 17, 2014

Nice product

"Easy to install. Operate smoothly and quietly. Only thing bothers us is the remote controller has three push buttons, the biggest one is the real remote control botton. We haven't figured out what the other two bottons for yet."
Review 3 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Ottawa
Date:September 24, 2013

Lasted about 2 1/2 years

Pros: when it worked it was good, easy to install
Cons: didn't last very long.
"Seems like a really solid product and it worked well for about 2 1/2 years of very intermittent use. Now the door only goes down about 4/5 of the way, then jams trying to come up too far. I've reset it several times, tried to tune it, but it will not travel down all the way consistently. Might work once, but then the next time it won't. I would have expected it to last longer."
Review 4 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:White City, SK
Date:September 4, 2013

Worked great - until today...

Pros: quiet, battery backup for power outages
Cons: tough to program vehicles to work with this, receiver logic board failed
"Installed about 3 years ago - it stopped working today. Flashing LED indicates the receiver logic board needs to be replaced. Really? 3 years old and I need to replace a major component already? Should have stuck with our old opener."
Review 5 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Minus 20 C in Quebec
Date:March 26, 2013

Good product, manual needs work

Pros: solid strong well designed - feel good about it.
Cons: the manual should be a bit lighter in tone.
"There are so many scary cautions in the manual that I was apprehensive when I finished installing this opener. Also, please note: for the outside keypad, when setting the PIN number DO NOT start the PIN with a "0" - the darn thing just ignores you. The installation manual should have mentioned this.
This is a solid hard-working opener, quiet and not hard to put in. Get a staple gun to put up the bell wire - those copper staples in the box cause too many sore thumbs. I recommend printing the PDF version of the manual from the web so you can take pages with you and tack them up on the wall.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON
Date:January 30, 2013

Good Quiet Choice

Pros: quiet, lots of features, easy install
"We bought this belt driven model to get quieter performance as an upgrade from our old chain driven Stanley. The Chamberlain 3/4hp is very smooth and extremely quiet and has a bunch of cool features including a back up battery. It was an easy install and we were please to see that the package included an outside remote keypad too. We are very pleased."
Review 7 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Port Coquitlam, BC
Date:December 15, 2012

BEST GARAGE DOOR EVER

Pros: super quiet. all the bells and whistles.
Cons: none
"I bought this Chamberlain at Costco in October and got a 3rd party installer for $100. Everything worked perfectly and it is 90% more quuieter than my previous Chambelain which was over 15 yrs old. I should have changed this years ago. The installer took only 1.5hrs to install ALL components."
Review 8 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Carp, Ontario
Date:November 6, 2012

Great product and unbelievably quiet

Pros: super quiet, motion detection turns on openers lights, good range with remote control, battery backup in case of emergency
"I'd had enough of my previous no-name opener failing with weak parts and poor engineering. So, I committed to buy what I felt was the premier opener. I wasn't disappointed.
The installation directions are long, but very clear and thorough. Read them carefully and you shouldn't experience any issues."
Review 9 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, Alberta
Date:September 9, 2012

Nice

"Detailed instructions, easy to follow. Thanks to previous posters for pointing out the exension needed for bigger doors."
Review 10 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Russell, ON
Date:August 14, 2012

Love This opener - Super Quiet!

Pros: very quiet., standard installation. clear instructions.
"Same installation as any other self-install garage opener. We had one from another large chain in our last house. You will need a few things from your local hardware store. Worth every penny and super quiet. My daughter's bedroom is above the garage and she would never hear it. We had a chain driven opener before and it was 15 times louder. I have no cons to date! Invest in this product!"
Review 11 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB
Date:July 28, 2012

Some glitches but it works well

Pros: the motion sensor which turns on the light
"We purchased this model because we wanted low noise and good power. The reviews were helpful in deciding, and thanks to those who mentioned needing an extension kit for taller doors.
The package came quickly and the installation was straightforward and as per the instructions. I encourage you to read them carefully for setting up the travel limits and door travel force.
We had a problem with the range of the remotes and needed to call the service line. They were helpful and ended up sending a new circuit board under warranty, which was simple to install."
Review 12 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:July 25, 2012

Great purchase, quiet, and no vibration

Pros: quiet, limited vibration, easy to assemble
"Bought this to replace the old chain driven opener that came with the house. Wanted a belt drive opener to reduce noise and vibration that the chain drive opener had. Our toddler's bedroom is directly over the garage and he would not sleep through open/close cycle with the chain drive, but with this opener, he doesn't even stir when it opens or closes. You can barely hear it, and the house no longer shakes!
It's also really easy to assemble (especially if you have an existing opener where some of the brackets can be re-used). Did this on my own, but a few steps could use a second set of hands to hold the motor and rail system.
Had no problem setting up the homelink button on our 2006 Expedition (first attempt) and the range is twice what our old opener was. All in all, very happy with this purchase."
Review 13 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Brampton,Ontario
Date:October 21, 2011

Best Garage Door Opener

"Recently I have purchased two ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Openers.They are really quite and installation wasn't that hard took me little time to read instructions and after that assembly was easy .It's working like charm the only recommendation from my side is buy the mounting rails from hardware store as will need it to mount on the roof to support the motor.I am really happy with this product."
Review 14 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, Ontario
Date:September 2, 2011

Excellent Purchase

"I shopped around for a while for a Garage dorr opener and ended up with with this one because of the excellent features and lower price than other packages, it included everything I needed at a lower price than other packages that were missing the wireless pad. I was happy at how fast it arrived, 4 days, and it was extremely easy to set up. I find it is very quiet, much quieter than any of my friend's Garage openers.
Other features that I liked are:
1. The motion detector on the wired main pad which activates the lights.
2. the wireless exterior access pad - i find I use this all the time.
"
Review 15 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg, MB
Date:April 6, 2010

Excellent product, prompt delivery

Pros: excellent kit, fast delivery, clear instructions
"I really like this garage door opener. Operation is very quiet. Delivery was very prompt- like 3 days!
I took my time installing it, and made sure I read the instructions thoroughly- very important! For the most part, installation was pretty straight-forward. Did most of the installation myself, but needed someone to help hold the assembly up when attaching to the header bracket and hanging it.
Where I ran into problems was getting it to learn up and down limits. I found out later the problem was that I had the battery backup installed during that time, and it became very confused- to the point that it wouldn't do full cycles. Once I removed the battery, I was able to get through the learning cycle and reinstall the battery, and it works great.
One issue from the instruction book was the drawings for the hanger bracket- they don't look like anything included in the kit."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Markham, ON
Date:March 25, 2010

Amazing

"Amazingly quiet and full featured. It did take me a few hours to install but it was worth it. Didn't install the keypad remote though as it's just too easy for someone to take it away.
Overall, excellent product.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Newmarket, ON
Date:January 11, 2010

Lots of NOT INCLUDED items

Pros: powerful with no noise, very clear intsllation instruction, solid and good quality
Cons: lots of not included items, does not have remote monitor for inside the house
"Lots of NOT INCLUDED items
I purchased and installed this unit in September but waited till now to see the performance of the unit when the door is heavy with rain and snow.
Here on my double garage door it performs like a charm with no noise even after a heavy rain or -20 degree.
Read the instruction fully before start. There are lots of NOT INCLUDED items which will interrupt your installation. Buy all missing hardwares from hardware store then begin. It is very restricted to 7 feet high door. Even having one inch short in your calculation will give you a hard time in last step which is the training the unit for auto stop. Make sure it sits flash to the door position.
I got the unit when it was on sale but still couple of weeks later I found it cheaper in competitors store with one extra remote keychain opener which is very handy.
The NOT INCLUDED items were very annoying as it cost me 5 trips to hardware store."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:NL
Date:December 18, 2009

Definitely impressed

Pros: very quiet, highly professional support from chamberlain
Cons: requires an extra kit for doors over 7 feet
"Purchased two of these products about 6 months ago. They were easy to install and work very well. While I had an issue with a faulty battery with one unit, it was quickly resolved by the manufacturer who shipped a replacement battery without charge."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:winnipeg
Date:October 11, 2009

Great Product

"I ordered this on line, got it delivered to my door in 1 week by UPS. Installed it today and went very smooth except setting height of garage door and getting remotes to remember the garage door height. Once figured out, it worked great. Missing Motor hanging bracket for finished ceiling in my garage so I had to improvise using a piece of angle iron. First time I ever installed one . Did it in 4 hours . Impressed"
Review 20 for Chamberlain® ¾ HP Whisper Drive® Plus Garage Door Opener
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Nelson BC
Date:September 14, 2009

Outstanding

Pros: super quiet compared to the old chain drive system
Cons: none yet
"Extremely pleased with this opener. Incredibly quiet and lots of controls. Installation was fairly straight forward but I did have someone who knew what they were doing assisting."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>