Customer Reviews for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch

With Wireless Heart Rate Monitor Includes Garmin® Training Center™ Software
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
(out of 22 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 of 22(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Review 1 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Squamsih, BC
Date:November 22, 2011

Push yourself a little harder

Pros: easy to use for any activity.
"As a 70 year old and having run for 40+ years, I'd become very nonchalant about my running routine. This easy to use device integrated well with my other GPS maps and the addition of heart rate and pace information encouraged me to incorporate sprints into my daily routine and watch for improvements. As well it's easy to use on our dog walks and bicycle rides regardless of weather."
Review 2 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, AB
Date:September 21, 2011

Wish I had bought this a long time ago!

Pros: tells me how many calories i burned., tells me my fastest speed., tells me how far i have gone.
Cons: very clunky watch!
"I bought this a little under a month ago at the urging of my sister (because she has one). I am so happy that she insisted that I get one because I take it everywhere I go. I am enjoying my walks a lot more now that I know how far I am walking and how fast I am going. Also I like knowing how many calories that I use. This watch is a bit clunky (like stated in previous reviews) but it is worth it."
Review 3 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:September 13, 2011

Love love love it!

"I have gone through so many different watches between Timex, Mio and now this! I wish I would have boughten it years ago! the information that you can get from the watch and the downloads are incredible! Best buy this year!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick
Date:May 23, 2011

Can't run without it

Pros: provides lots of information, easy set up on computer, comfortable to wear, not very expensive, can be used as a trainer
Cons: kind of big on your wrist
"I have had this product for 3 years and I may have developed an addiction to it. I find it motivating to be able to track all of the stats of my runs. It works well in overcast conditions (you just have to wait longer for the satellites to sync) and it has great battery life. I find it easy to use and although I don't regularly use the heartrate monitor, when I do, I find it comfortable to wear.
The only thing I can think of to say in a negative aspect is that it is rather large - however, I don't mind this as I like having a larger screen to read and don't mind the size at all.
If you run and like to track your progress - it's a cheap investment."
Review 5 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Montreal, QC
Date:May 13, 2011

Excellent product

"I have this watch for 3 weeks, ran under rain and clear sky; works excellent!
Finds the heart rate right away.
Good product.
I will recommend it.
"
Review 6 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:April 13, 2011

Good Buy

"I bought this as a gift for an avid jogger and he cannot say enough good things about this product. He loves the functionality of this watch and is using it to its full potential. He highly recommends this product."
Review 7 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Abbotsford, BC
Date:April 8, 2011

I AM A STATS NUT!

Pros: heart rate monitor!, big numbers!, custom displays!
"I bought this because I found it hard not to know how I was improving when I ran outside. This product is great! I can see how I am improving by many levels (heart rate, pace, speed, min/km, etc). I would and have recommended this product to others. Beware of the 405, as its interface is harder to use. This is overall the best buy for the money."
Review 8 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2011

Love It!

Pros: it's a great product/provides great information
Cons: web-based stats - privacy may be an issue
"Terrific product. Able to add other activities to the web-based calendar, consolidating my many stats for various activities. Had some trouble understanding the software as it is web-based program. The website defaults to public view for your stats - for privacy consumers may wish to opt for the private view."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:London, ON
Date:September 11, 2010

love it!!!

Pros: easy to use
"ok, i'm not a runner but this little gadget has inspired me to start! I bought it because I love to cycle and after having it for a short time I decided to try running with it and bring it with me on hikes too. I love it..it's the best thing I've bought!!"
Review 10 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:April 20, 2010

So far so good except after two years...

"IF you are a serious runner then you got to buy it especially at its current price. It has enough features to keep you busy to customise it. While the watch is a bit too big for most but the large display area is easy on the eye. And you can choose either three or four data fields to suit your needs. The only glitch and drawback is after two years the battery does not seem to hold charge and can be discharged quickly without knowing it. I put it on the cradle and charged overnight and the display did read charging complete before I took it to a road race but it did not last for more than five minutes! So I need to physically leave the light on and drain it totally before the next charge. Now it seems it is working but the only drawback is that it is not possible for the consumer to change the rechargeable battery. I will write Garmin and find out about this since I am a handy man myself and always change my other watch batteries. Overall it is a good watch with GPS feature. Go get one if within your budget because this is something a serious runner should invest in."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:winnipeg
Date:January 14, 2010

wish I'd bought sooner!

Pros: gps features, detailed information
Cons: none
"My only regret is not using this product sooner!
I received it as a gift this past Xmas. Wow! I didn't think it would be this good. For me the best part is knowing how far I've run. Before, I would go for a run and estimate the distance (i'd take the car for a spin to measure the kms). Now I can run anywhere and know how far I've gone, my pace, elevation changes, etc. But it doesn't just give you averages, you get detailed information. You can transfer this to the computer via USB and view graphs, etc. You can analyze which part of your run was faster, slower, etc.
This is a must have for any runner!
Plus with the GPS you know your precise location, i.e. lattitude, longitude and elevation. You can place "points of interest" and it will tell you how far away you are from these relative to your current position.
It's amazing."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Mississauga, ON
Date:December 26, 2009

Must have

Pros: works as advertised
Cons: non
"I have been using this for close to 9 months and it has worked flawlessly. Used for running and biking (cadence sensor GSC10). For better software use Sports Track... it's free.
Comes with two straps so it should fit any size wrist.
This is a great price.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:York Region, ON
Date:December 17, 2009

Can't live without it...

Cons: none
"I can't believe I've been running for years without it... This toy is just fanstastic: it tracks the distance, your pace, your heart rate. You'll discover completely new running routes right by your house. It can be set to record the stats for every kilometer. Most impressive is the garminconnect feature (online, and free!) that let's you download the info, analyze it, and visualize it on a map. Go get one - this is a real steal!"
Review 14 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Winnipeg
Date:December 3, 2009

An indispensible tool

"Once you use this GPS HRM, you'll never go back. It is simple to use, and the software is extremely useful. Having all the data for every run is an advantage that I never imagined. And it has allowed me to pace myself, bringing some of my best times in years. It is also useful for other workouts (e.g. the gym) to record duration and heart rate. Love it!"
Review 15 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Barrie, On
Date:November 18, 2009

Great Product

"Does everything you need and more. I like the fact that the software works on a Mac. Very well designed, easy to use."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Richmond Hill, ON
Date:November 16, 2009

This is a good sport watch !

Pros: easy to read multi-display, rechargable, great for tracking workouts on a mac or pc, seemless data transfer for mac users
Cons: a bit weird looking ...
"***Don't buy the Garnmin forerunner 50 !****
Buy this watch ! The Forerunner 305 is much higher quality, has a rechargeable battery, very easily viewable display. Relatively easy to program. Similar watches cost 100's more. HRM works great.
Software works well on a Mac. I have only had 1 glitch so far. Yes it's a little big, but for the over 40 crowd, it's easy to see the large display. If you can get over the " Star Trek " look of this watch, for the price it's probably one of the best out there. Add the footpod and you can use it on a treadmill as well.
Great for tracking your workouts ! Very versatile workout programming. Really is a nice sport watch overall.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 15, 2009

Must have for all runners!!

Pros: easy to use., quite accurate.
"I have been using the 305 for a few years now and I love it!! The screens are customizable - so you can see exactly what matters most to you during your run/bike ride.
The heartrate monitor is a must for those days when your running against the wind and the snow - you know your not going very fast... but the heart rate monitor shows how hard your really working."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:November 6, 2009

Awesome Product!

Pros: easy to set up and use, seems accurate
Cons: large and clunky, seems to take a while to catch a satellite signal
"I got this as a present. I was pretty much able to use it right out of the box (after charging). It was quite easy to understand how to set it up. The manual isn't like a 500 page novel, so that's good. All in all, it seems to give me an accurate reading for distance, heart rate and calories burned. This is exactly what I was lookig for!"
Review 19 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Cornwall ON
Date:November 6, 2009

Heart rate monitor did not work

Pros: easy to use
Cons: heart monitor unreliable
"Wrist unit easy and intuitative to use, although must be used outdoors to capture distance via GPS. The heart rate monitor did not work properly on chest or back as suggested, even with Gel. Tried new battery also. Perhaps it is just this unit. Software for pc that the unit downloads to is quite good. Will bring it back for refund as I have wasted enough time getting it to work."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Garmin® Forerunner® 305 Personal Training GPS Watch
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Newfoundland
Date:September 25, 2009

Love it!!!

Pros: multi sport, able to mount on my bike
Cons: a little large
"Have had this for 2 months now and use it 4-6 x per week for running and cycling. Previously had a Forerunner 201 and was using a polar F6 for HR monitoring - this combines it all into one. I also purchased the quick release strap and bike mount so I could attach to my bike...works like a charm!
Using garmin connect to upload information.
"
1 2 next>>