Customer Reviews for Stinger® 1.5 Acre Outdoor Insect Killer

Stinger® 1.5 Acre Outdoor Insect Killer

Target biting mosquitoes today!  Take back your yard and outdoor fun with this innovative mosquito killer.  This is an effective, easy, clean and affordable non-propane solution to killing mosquitoes in very backyard.  Mosquitoes are drawn to the unit where they are electrocuted and harmless fall to the ground.  The Stinger® Outdoor Insect Killer is a great option for slightly larger yards.  It has been scientifically tested and proven effective for yards up to 1.5 acres. Features: Includes 3 NØsquito™ octenol lures Uses UV black light 24/7 mode available Scientifically tested and proven effective for up to 1.5 acres Dimensions (L x W x H) and Weights: 24.6 cm x 19.4 cm x 49.5 cm (9.7 in. x 7.9 in. x 19.5 in.), 3.2 kg (7.1 lb.) Warranty: 3 years Model: BK301NS-CST-CAN
Average Customer Rating:
3.111 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
(out of 9 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
6 of 9(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Stinger® 1.5 Acre Outdoor Insect Killer
Review 1 for Stinger® 1.5 Acre Outdoor Insect Killer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 8, 2014

Works well for us!

" We have bought 3 of these and they work amazing! We have a ridiculous amount of mosquitoes and after putting these up we can actually sit in our yard and not get carried away. Compared to other bug zappers used in the past, this one blows them away...and is constantly zapping, we have to empty out almost daily (yes we have that many!) "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stinger® 1.5 Acre Outdoor Insect Killer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:June 9, 2015

Worst purchase ever

Pros: non
Cons: not effective, poor dezine, regress in model development
" I have the previous version of this product advertised as effective for 1 acre. It worked Ok for a very small area, so I decided to buy more units. There was no "old" dezine unit available anymore and I purchased 4 of the new dezine units advertised for 1.5 acre.
- first of all the new unit is 1.5 times smaller than the old model with smaller zip area and smaller bulb which does not make sense as it is advertised for larger area than the old model
- second, the dezine of the new model is way worth than the old one. The old model is round in shape and larger zip and light area is exposed when it is hanging on the wall. The new model is oval and when handing next to the wall almost half of the unit is not exposed
- third, the zip dezine of the new unit is worth than the old one. The old unit has two mesh cylinders with small square holes which would effectively zip a small mosquito. The new model has one cylinder of parallel bars which is less effective as an average size mosquito could harmlessly croll up and down on that bar with plenty of distance to the next bar. The test showed the new model in the same space as the old model was 80% less effective.
- also, this new model does not have the day light sensor to automatically turn on at night
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stinger® 1.5 Acre Outdoor Insect Killer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Langley BC
Date:May 14, 2015

Have to replace BULBS every year at least

Pros: kills them bugs
Cons: bulb cost is expensive to replace, cannot find replacement bulbs
" A great product but you Have to replace BULBS every year at least.. They should come with another bulb to start with.. In Canada they sell for $30 and in the USA $10 - $12 Costco should sell replacement bulbs for this item at a good price as they have sold them for a few years now.. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Stinger® 1.5 Acre Outdoor Insect Killer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Georgetown, PEI
Date:July 20, 2014

Does A Good Job

Pros: will get a lot of bugs zapped
" Works well, we are on its 2nd season of use and as long as we are replacing the lure every 30 days or so, it has been doing a good job. We have to dump the dead mosquitoes out every week to make room for more. It has been through tropical and post tropical storms and keeps on zapping. We use this unit in conjunction with a skeeter vac and have noticed a significant reduction in mosquitoes. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stinger® 1.5 Acre Outdoor Insect Killer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Windsor, NS
Date:June 9, 2014
Pros: dead mosquitoes
Cons: none yet
" We bought this three days ago and so far it is great. It zaps a bug about every 10 seconds and they look to be mosquitoes. Hope it lasts because I love it so far. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Stinger® 1.5 Acre Outdoor Insect Killer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:July 18, 2013

Works well for small areas, prone to failure...

Pros: kill bugs indoors very well, costco's return policy
Cons: not effective outdoors, doesn't last long
" I found it worked well indoors (after removing the octonol lure). I live in an area with heavy mosquito populations so this product couldn't possibly keep up with 1.5 acres... However after moving it inside the dozens of bugs that somehow find their way in were effectively zapped when other lights were low.
I'd give it a better score but the zapper failed on me after about 2 months of light usage... Costco did give me a full refund though no hassles so I guess I will be buying another. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Stinger® 1.5 Acre Outdoor Insect Killer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Sudbury, ON
Date:July 22, 2013

Does not work outdoors

Pros: none
Cons: doesnt work and not reliable
" I bought 2 of these outdoor units for the cottage. One works but has no effect at all on the mosquitos. The bulb on second unit worrked for approximately 2 hours. Since the cottage is not close to a Costco warehouse, I called the 800 number on the unit. Customer Service rep at the company told me that the 3 year warranty does not cover the bulb at all. In fact, she said the bulb's life expectancy is not guaranteed at all. After 2 hours of use, I would have to purchase a new bulb. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stinger® 1.5 Acre Outdoor Insect Killer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Victoria BC
Date:July 1, 2015

I believe I was bad luck

Pros: gorgeous tanning lines on the bugs
Cons: didn't come with enough cream.
" Well.. it seems from a reputable company and I was looking forward to it. It worked very good for the first two days and started humming... later I realized that the zapper part of it wasn't working and the it became a tanning bed for the bugs. Well... since I didn't have enough cream for the after tanning for the bugs, I will return this one and hopefully it will be good next time. "
Review 9 for Stinger® 1.5 Acre Outdoor Insect Killer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:New Brunswick
Date:June 19, 2015

Great at cathing moths

Pros: great moth killer
Cons: only attracts and kills moths.
" Unfortunately this unit does nothing but attrack and kill moths. By using the octenol, I was very hopful that this might do more than the old style bug zappers, but the sad reality is when you use a light, everything gets attracted to it (except mosquitos). It's the same as when you leave your outside lights on at night, tons of moths attracted to the light. After the first nights slaughter of countless moths, I thought that if I left my deck lights on, the light from the deck might attract the moths away from the zapper, but unfortunately that didn't make much of a difference. The only things that there are less of now are moths..... including several luna moths which was kind of sad as they are quite beautiful. "