Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Costco.

KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer

This item may currently be in stock at your local Costco warehouse for immediate purchase at a cash and carry price. Some colours that appear on the picture may not be available at the time of purchase The High Performance 575 W motor with a Flour Power™ Index of 3.1 L (13 cups) delivers the power to mix enough dough for seven 454 g (1 lb) loaves of bread or eleven dozen cookies.  The combination of the legendary power hub and all the various KitchenAid attachments gives you maximum versatility to make homemade pasta, stuff fresh sausage, whip up ice cream and give fruit a squeeze.  The 10-speed slide control ranges from a very fast whip to a very slow stir. It comes with a flat beater, dough hook and wire whip. Also included is the KitchenAid Flex Edge Scraper beater, the only approved scraper beater for the mixer that ensures optimal operation of the mixer, while offering faster ingredient incorporation with minimal heat build-up. No wonder generations of cooks have cherished this beautiful and powerful addition to the kitchen. Features: 575 W motor 5.2 L (5.5 qt.) stainless steel bowl All-metal gears with advanced controls Optimize in-bowl torque with less heat-build up Residential attachment hub Accessories Include: White Coated Flat Beater Flex-Edge Scraper Beater Dough Hook 6-wire Whip Specifications: Dimensions (L x W x H): 40.6 cm x 30.5 cm x 45.7 cm; (16 in. x 12 in. x 18 in.) Weight: 13.2 kg (29 lb.) Warranty: 1 year
Average Customer Rating:
3.385 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
(out of 13 reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
8 of 13(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer
Review 1 for KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2012

Great Mixer

"I have had my mixer for a few years now and have never had any problems. Works Fantastic!"
Review 2 for KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Milton, ON
Date:October 13, 2012

Very good value

Pros: quality mixer that works wondefully
Cons: none to date.
"Works great. No problems since new and we use it several times a week. I would like to see Costco sell additional bowls for this mixer as they are a pain to get. Maybe bundle an additional bowl with other attachments."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Vancouver, BC
Date:October 29, 2012

Love it!

"we make everything from cupcakes to cookies and bread dough oh yeah, and fondant! everything we wanted and it works like a charm :)"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 13, 2012

Best mixer there is

Pros: available attachments, style and look of machine, power and speed, ease of cleaning, ease of using attachments easy to put on, ease of use
Cons: should come with pouring guide
"I have this mixer and have had it for over 2 years. It is a great addition to any kitchen. It works amazingly for those who just cook or bake a little or for those more adventurous who like to grind their own meats, make sausages or pasta. The attachments are all extremely easy to use, as the whole system is. This mixer has the power to do anything i need it to do, and with christmas around the corner i can tell you iam looking forward to having this machine help me with all the christmas baking!!"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer
Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location:Kamloops,B.C.
Date:April 30, 2013

Amazing Machine

Pros: large motorclear instructions
Cons: costco should throw in a splatter protector, hard to find accesories anywhere
"Like any machine you have to read the instructions and use the right attachment particularly with heavy dough and mix first at 1 and then setting 2 once all the ingredients are added . But this massive mixer has been in my possession for 4 months and I am extremely satisfied with the strength of the motor and its abilities. I always make two loaves of heavy rye bread and this machine just plainly performs well above expectations and is priced much better than it's sister the 600. In fact I doubt there is any measurable differences having spent a lot of time looking at all models from the 300 -600 watt motors."
Review 6 for KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Vancouver B.C.
Date:December 15, 2012

Reliable and dependable

Pros: powerful, easy to use
Cons: no splatter shield
"I purchased this mixer about ten months ago to replace a trusty but worn out thirty year old Kitchenaid K5-A. This model is similar in style and suitable for the same type of heavy-duty use.
I have mixed four loaves of bread in this machine with no problems whatsoever. I suspect that some of the people who are having trouble are not following instructions. The documents that come with the mixer clearly state that you MUST use speed setting 2 when using the dough hook, and that any other speed could damage the machine. On speed 2 the hook is not moving fast enough to make the mixer "hop" as some say happens.
Just today I mixed up eight cups of chocolate buttercream using the flat blade and the mixer ploughed through it as easily as it does egg whites. It is a champ on heavy loads and so far I have found it has power to spare no matter the task.
I wish a splatter shield came with it. I have not been able to find one that fits this model. This mixer is very heavy too, which is great for stability but it also means it isn't easy to move about say from a cupboard to the counter. I leave mine on the counter all the time.
If you like to bake yeast breads, or routinely mix up larger batches of cake frosting, or just want a great big mixer for your counter, this machine will not let you down."
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer
Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Laval, QC
Date:July 9, 2013

What's the problem?

Pros: robust, top quality attachements, wife loved it as house warming gift
Cons: pour/splash guard thingys are noticeably missing, had to return 1 model because of cosmetic defect, bad reviews. kitechenaid should defend its product
"I was a little hesitant to get this model considering all the reviews. Funny smells? Gears grinding? What tha heck?!
I bought this higher model partly because of those types of comments. I figured that I better buy a higher end model and maybe it wouldn't die on me. Plus, GOTTA LOVE COSTCO RETURNS! No risk!
Conclusion? I think I figured out the problem...people are probably using this ``Professional Model`` professionally! The name suggests that it could be used professionally but I suspect this is why I was reading horror stories. It's counter intuitive but it's a HOUSEHOLD APPLIANCE not a cheap alternative to a commercial grade product!
If you're like me (my wife actually)...and you DON'T bake 2-3 loafs of bread or bake 3 batches of cup cakes every day, chances are you won't be disappointed. I am not."
Review 8 for KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer
Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location:Ottawa, ON
Date:October 12, 2012

I love it but it's only okay

Pros: great for most mixing/kneading
Cons: doesn't perform the way it says it will perform
"I've had a 550-Pro mixer for a little less than a year. I use it at least three times a week, once for bread and other times for other types of baking. It's great for baking one loaf of bread using 4-5 cups of flour but I made a 2-loaf batch once and I thought it was going to explode. The whole kitchen smelled like a buring machine. I'm very cautious in my use of it now and I really don't trust that it does what it says it will do. Still, it's good for almost all of my needs I do love it."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:BC
Date:September 26, 2012

sounds like it is dying

Pros: gets the job done .... so far.
Cons: very noisy gears?
"This is the second 550 I have had. I took the first back in June. It sounded like it was dying. Now this one does too. Works ok but not sure It will make it through the warrenty period."
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Calgary
Date:December 5, 2012

On my 3rd in 2yrs

Pros: attractive
Cons: motor doesn't seem to live up to its reputation
"Thank god for costco's return policy. I followed the directions. I use it 2-3 times per week mostly for bread. It whines... All 3 have. The 2nd one actually died. This one has lasted nearly a year but if/when it dies I will be getting the Bosch."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer
Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Edmonton, Alberta
Date:March 7, 2013

Not satisfied

Pros: handle to lift bowl up and down very smooth
Cons: difficult to get bowl into the fitting grooves.., squeals very loud
"Very hard to put the bowl into the grooves,, however the handle to put up and down was nice.. however turned the machine on and it squealed like a bearing was gone... honestly i have the artesian and i do like the fact that with the smaller one you can interchange the size of the bowl... it mixes just as well as the big one. unless you are making huge batches of stuff,, i would stick with the Artesian"
Review 12 for KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Montreal
Date:October 2, 2012

Absolutely not for kneading dough

Pros: looking expensive on your kitchen counter
Cons: doesn't work
"I bought this for the purpose of kneading dough for bread/paste etc., I was hesitant with the bad reviews all over the net but thought I'd try it for myself. Well those reviews were right, it's horrible for this use.
The machine claim it can knead up to 12 cup of flour, so I tried 3. Initially it was okay while mixing flour and water, but as soon as the dough form a ball the horror starts.
The machine started to flex and I thought the neck is going to break, the motor have trouble turning the hook at times. The mechanism to raise the bowl isn't well matched to the base so the whole thing starts to shaking and banging, and if the dough is caught between dough hook and outside unsupported side of the bowl, the hook push the bowl out of the spring detent and starts to fling the bowl around. I had to put a piece of 2x4 under the bowl to stabilize it long enough to finish the kneading process. I can't help but to think if I tried 12 cups I'd have a pile of burning parts on my kitchen counter.
I'm sure it'll do fine whipping eggs or cake batter, but so will a cheap hand mixer."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for KitchenAid® Professional 550 Plus Lift Stand Mixer
Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Calgary, AB
Date:December 31, 2012

Not all KA stand mixers the same?

Pros: it died within warranty period.
Cons: the smoke off of it smelled up the house.
"I do not believe that all kitchenaid mixers are built the same. We bought this unit and used it about 10 times over a month. It clicked and whirred and always ran very hot. The lift mechanism was loose and there was always a smell. When you open the box, there is a warning about all of this and says not to return to Costco if there is an issue. Our previous mixer lasted 6 years before the lower gears no longer worked.
This unit lasted only 1 month before smoke started billowing out of it. We were not surprised, given the cheap feel of it. Costco gave refund without issue.
Since we have many attachments, we did not want to move away from KA. For $80 more i got the 610 and noticed many differences. It is way more solid. You can put it to the hardest task and it barely warms up. It is quieter. The wire whisk is a lot stronger and has twice as many wires. The bowl is heavier. Aesthetically, it has a bigger lift handle and the "Professional Kitchenaid" tag on the front is imposed, not cheaply painted on a tin strip that is loosely attached.
The big kicker is that the new mixer did not come with the piece of paper warning you that the mixer runs hot and may smell. I believe this points to knowledge of a different motor quality inside.
This 550 model seems to just be made for Costco and it seems like corners were cut. Many manufactures do this (from sporting equip to electronics), and it always makes me loose faith in the manufacturer and the stores that push them into it. If you can not google the model number and find a review, be sure to do your research."
17 of 17 people found this review helpful.